PDA

View Full Version : CMOS Battery in 286 and 386



Butterflyking
February 27th, 2008, 05:59 AM
Hello,

I own various old 286 and 386 machines. Some of them have already a very very weak CMOS battery which should be replaced.

Do any of you know where to get such batteries or alternatives to them?

I reside in Austria, Europe


Thanks in advance

Butterflyking

Dwight Elvey
February 27th, 2008, 06:22 AM
Hi
I've used the NiCads that are used for portable phones. These
are usually 3 cells. The physical look is different. These have
wires which makes it easier to locate the cells away from the
PC board in case there are leaks. I usually put the cells in a small
zip loc bag and tape them to the lowest point in the enclosure.
I'm relatively sure there are portable phones ( not cell phones )
where you are. There must be replacement cells.
This is assuming that it uses NiCads. Some machines use alkaline
batteries that would need replacing. These can be replaced with
a battery clip and a few AAA cells.
Dwight

Butterflyking
February 27th, 2008, 07:53 AM
Thanks for your help. Do you mean these:

http://bilder.afterbuy.de/images/55585/Camelion600mAhGigaset100.JPG

leos_advs
February 27th, 2008, 10:59 AM
Thanks for your help. Do you mean these:

http://bilder.afterbuy.de/images/55585/Camelion600mAhGigaset100.JPG

i use that battery with my macintosh Quadra.. works great.

modem7
February 27th, 2008, 09:50 PM
Here is a possible source:
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250063857301

Butterflyking
February 28th, 2008, 12:52 AM
thanks for your help. I tried the battery for portable phones and it worked great. Now IŽll try the other boards with the battery. Hope that it also will work.