PDA

View Full Version : Problems with a TI-59 [It actually IS a computer]



per
May 1st, 2008, 11:23 PM
Some days ago, I tried to use my (dad's) old TI59 calculator/pocketcomputer. I plugged out the battery pack (I don't know if it is smert to charge such old batteries), and turned it on by the power trafor.

When I turned it on, It quickly flashes a "C" to the left, and then a zero appears as normal to the right. If I then try to press any keys, it goes crazy, and a lot of garrabge flasshes on the screen (somtimes, the magnetic tape-reader even starts!).

What might be the problem?

Ksarul
May 8th, 2008, 12:55 PM
These calculators require the battery pack to be installed in order to work right. You should be able to find them on e-bay from time to time (the battery pack). Another option would be to put it in the printer cradle and use it that way--then you don't need a battery pack. The printer cradles are also sold on e-bay pretty regularly.

per
May 9th, 2008, 02:28 AM
thanks. The battery pack is 3.6V, and this source: http://www.datamath.org/Batteries/BP1_Repair.htm tells it can be replaced by a phone battery. Do you know if running it without the battery pack may damadge the calculator:(:confused:?

Ksarul
May 9th, 2008, 09:38 AM
It shouldn't damage it--the manual just states that it won't work properly without it or the docking cradle.

achilleus
July 5th, 2008, 01:38 PM
I have the TI-59 and just bought a brand new battery pack (it was $36) on ebay - someone is selling new ones with Kodak batteries that last 4 times longer than the originals. I tried to repair mine with new batteries, but the soldering was horrible and stuck out too far for it to fit back in the machine, and I gave up on that route. I've very pleased with the 'new' machine:)

-Dean

per
July 5th, 2008, 02:54 PM
I have the TI-59 and just bought a brand new battery pack (it was $36) on ebay - someone is selling new ones with Kodak batteries that last 4 times longer than the originals. I tried to repair mine with new batteries, but the soldering was horrible and stuck out too far for it to fit back in the machine, and I gave up on that route. I've very pleased with the 'new' machine:)

-Dean

I don't bother if the pack is in the calc or not. What I plan is to just get a 3.6v wierless-phone battery and put some wires from the contacts on the calc to the battery poles (of course with the right polarity!).