PDA

View Full Version : walmart selling a TI Z80 comp?



vic user
August 16th, 2004, 02:47 PM
saw this in the ottawa classic comp. sig:

Article #386 (386 is last):
From: ag384@FreeNet.Carleton.CA (William R. Watt)
Newsgroups: ncf.sigs.computer.classic
Subject: Z80 CPU lives on
Reply-To: ag384@FreeNet.Carleton.CA (William R. Watt)
Date: 16 Aug 2004 19:16:49 GMT

There's an ad in the Walmart flyier for a $97.77 Texas Instruments
handheld calculator which draw graphs on a tiny screen and
"supports Z80 assembly language programming".

Terry Yager
August 16th, 2004, 03:21 PM
Yeah, I've got a TI-81 here, but I've never had much of a chance to play with it (mainly because I don't have the right manual for it).

--T

vic user
August 16th, 2004, 03:44 PM
you can dowload the product manual here, if that is of use to you.

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00005QT8C/electrono-20/103-5215308-4955042?dev-t=D2EZ6W27JQ909K%26camp=2025%26link_code=xm2

i have no idea how specific it gets, for your needs.

chris

Terry Yager
August 16th, 2004, 04:44 PM
All right! Kewl! Just what I needed. Only now I finally bothered to turn it on and run some kinda self-test, only to discover that about half the pixels in the display ain't working :-(.

--T

CP/M User
August 18th, 2004, 03:52 AM
This TI-81 sounds interesting, does it support Z80 Assembly?!?

Anybody know how much memory (RAM) it has?

Cheers,
CP/M User.

tachyon
August 18th, 2004, 05:02 AM
TI sells several models of calculators that sport a Z80 processor, including the TI 86 Pro Silver Edition that includes a USB interface.

The spec sheets on the TI 86 says it has 128k of RAM. This page doesn't indicate how much Flash memory it has, but that's a fairly large amount IIRC.

Since I have to cut down on the space I'm taking up, I've considered buying one and putting CP/M on the machine, or worse yet, implementing RPN on it. :twisted:

tachyon

Terry Yager
August 18th, 2004, 06:01 AM
Wow! It'll run CP/M? Kewl! Let us know how you make out.

--T

CP/M User
August 18th, 2004, 02:08 PM
"tachyon" wrote:

> TI sells several models of calculators that sport a Z80
> processor, including the TI 86 Pro Silver Edition that
> includes a USB interface.

I saw one of their calculators a little while back,
unfortunately, I can't remember which make. It didn't
have a USB though & you have to buy the cable
seperately, which came with the software.

> The spec sheets on the TI 86 says it has 128k of RAM.
> This page doesn't indicate how much Flash memory it
> has, but that's a fairly large amount IIRC.

> Since I have to cut down on the space I'm taking up,
> I've considered buying one and putting CP/M on the
> machine, or worse yet, implementing RPN on it.

Yes, I guess in order to do some programming on it, it
would require some sort of storage unit. At first I
though a you could use 64k of that 128k as some sort
of Ramdisk, with batterys which keeps the contents intact
when turned off. CP/M might be nice for it, you don't know
the resolution of their screen, 160x100 perhaps?

Cheers,
CP/M User.

tachyon
August 18th, 2004, 04:23 PM
If I actually undertake this project, I'll probably use the Flash memory for pseudo disk storage and be wasteful by having a 64k TPA with the rest of the RAM used for buffers and the BDOS/BIOS so you don't have to reload after each warm boot.

I don't remember the screen resolution right off. I'll look it up and post it later.

tachyon

Terry Yager
August 18th, 2004, 04:59 PM
Doesn't that defeat the purpose of a warm boot? I thought the <ctrl-C> was intended to reload BDOS after it's been overlayed by the app. If BIOS & BDOS stay resident, then you won't ever need to warm boot the thing. Sounds like a plan. BTW, d'ya know off-hand how much memory is in the TI-81?

--T

tachyon
August 19th, 2004, 07:57 AM
That's the original purpose of a warm boot, but in CP/M 2.2, the warm boot also serves to refresh the disk pointers (checks for disk changes). Since you won't be changing disks in this machine anyway, it won't matter as much, but that's why you'd warm boot...

I don't know how much memory the TI 81 has, but if you go to the TI site linked above, you can look up other models in addition to the one that's specifically linked.

Regards,
Tom