PDA

View Full Version : Syntax error (joke)



TroyW
June 29th, 2008, 05:34 AM
Well, it made me chuckle...

http://images.stage6.com/channel_images/refuselife/46b04019063ef.jpg

Yzzerdd
June 29th, 2008, 09:56 AM
LOL!

--Jack

Vint
June 29th, 2008, 10:44 AM
You know what this is? It's one of those silly phrases that'll sticks in your head all day and you keep repeating it in your mind, even though you don't want to.
Now I'm stuck with it for today! Thanks a lot :sneaky:

If you're happy and you know it, syntax error
syntax error

IBMMuseum
June 29th, 2008, 05:41 PM
I kind of liked the small "NEWPAUSE" that Jeff Procise wrote, to be slipped in as a joke in a batch file whenever PAUSE was used...

It asked the same thing "Press any key."...

But would initially report "Any key but THAT one."...

TroyW
June 29th, 2008, 05:48 PM
Hahaha, I used to change the prompt:

prompt Bad or missing command interpreter$_System halted.$_
Then a CLS and it looked just like it should. Fooled a few people with that one :mrgreen:

I'm pretty sure that was the correct prompt string, I'm a bit rusty on DOS after all these years I have to admit :(

barythrin
June 30th, 2008, 12:42 PM
omg.. make the song in my head stop! ::bangs head on keyboard:: ;o)

NathanAllan
June 30th, 2008, 08:14 PM
is my computer depressed?

linemanduke
June 30th, 2008, 08:50 PM
well my xt is a little angry

http://i159.photobucket.com/albums/t122/duked_2007/DSC03474.jpg

Vint
July 1st, 2008, 10:13 AM
As you might expect - not all computers are created equal. Just see how differently some react to the 'syntax error!' statement.

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=21

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=19

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=20

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=23

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=22

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=24

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=25

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=26

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=27

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=30

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=29

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=28

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=31

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=32

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=33

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=34

barythrin
July 1st, 2008, 11:04 AM
That was.. huge.. but kinda cool. ;o)

NathanAllan
July 1st, 2008, 11:09 AM
This is now my favorite joke. Seriously. I am *never* forgetting this. I wish my wife would understand!

Druid6900
July 1st, 2008, 11:57 AM
Vint,

I hope you'll take this in the right way, but, you have WAY too much time on your hands, man. LOL

carlsson
July 1st, 2008, 02:13 PM
Which system is the one with white text on green background, using a / prompt and * for system messages?

My vTech Laser 2001 ain't different from the other Basic computers:
http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/attachment.php?attachmentid=693&d=1214949618

The vTech VZ-200 however will only say READY, just like a TRS-80 (which I think it is a subset of).

The COMX-35 reports "ERR CODE 27".

The Sord M5 with Basic-I says "Err 12 in 0" about the error example.

The Enterprise 128 is more concerned about making an IF statement outside of a program than exactly what the line says:
"*** Statement in immediate mode."

ZX Spectrum 128K, which was the first Spectrum to let you type in this kind of garbage, doesn't return an error message but points the cursor at O in YOU'RE.

Well, those were the home computers I could think of contributing.

Vint
July 1st, 2008, 03:58 PM
Vint,

I hope you'll take this in the right way, but, you have WAY too much time on your hands, man. LOL

:p Yes I do, and proud of it :D

I worked in factories. I worked road construction. I worked in offices. I worked for about 45 years - - and now I'm retired. I've been retired for 2 and a half years now. My father, rest his soul, never got to retire - passed away 1 day short of 65 years of age. Me and my 2 brothers made sure we got 'retirement time'. My 1 brother retired at age 53. The other one at 62. I also retired early at 62.
I have but one thing to say to those who are still 'working' - You're going to love retirement. Everyday is Saturday now! I wish this for all of you.

A line from a movie comes to mind. - There was a TV show back in 1969, (probably most of you won't remember it) - you had to be 'into motorcycles' - which I was back then. Anyway, the show was called "Then Came Bronson", staring Michael Parks. The pilot for the series was a 2 hour movie. In the pilot it shows Bronson quiting his job, taking a motorcycle and heading out of town. He stops at a light and a guy in a car says to him; "Taking a trip?" "Yea". "Where to?" "Oh, I don't know, wherever I end up I guess." "Man, I wish I was you." "Really, - well hang in there."

I have a link to the video clip of that converstation;

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0SJyMx3p6vo&feature=related

Being retired is like that - the work is done :cool:

MikeS
July 1st, 2008, 04:44 PM
As you might expect - not all computers are created equal. Just see how differently some react to the 'syntax error!' statement.

---
Nice! Is this all on the *real* hardware or emulators? How'd you get such nice screen shots of such a varied collection?

m

Vint
July 1st, 2008, 08:03 PM
Yes the screens 'look' good, but alas they aren't from dedicated 'real' machines but of course from that excellent computer emulator, MESS.
I have time on my hands - but not that much time - to get the screens from all the real machinery. Result looks the same though, huh?
For a dandy screen capture I use the handy button called 'Print Screen' on my keyboard. The difference being I ALSO use a small freeware utility called M8 Free Clipboard v12.00. This allows you to copy 25 separate items to the clipboard - saves a lot of time.
I didn't bother with many of the computers because I didn't want to have to huge a post. It already was probably bigger than it should have been. I have a tendency to forget that some people may still be on dial-up. I believe MESS can now emulate 439 vintage computers!

How about 1 more syntax error :D

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=36

MikeS
July 1st, 2008, 09:04 PM
Yes the screens 'look' good, but alas they aren't from dedicated 'real' machines but of course from that excellent computer emulator, MESS.

---
Kinda what I thought, considering how hard it'd be to capture the real thing that well. Very nice all the same though, and perfect for this sort of thing. Haven't looked at MESS for quite a while; amazing what these folks writing emulations have done there and elsewhere...

m

carlsson
July 1st, 2008, 10:07 PM
But my screenshot was from a genuine TV screen, complete with back lighting and everything. Personally I find the XP-ish error message as Nathan posted the funniest so far: Happy unexpected.

TroyW
July 2nd, 2008, 05:09 PM
is my computer depressed?Hahaha, that was unexpected! I tried it and got the same thing, amusing indeed!


As you might expect - not all computers are created equal. Just see how differently some react to the 'syntax error!' statement.


Hahaha good stuff! I might have to take another look at MESS by the looks of it - how well does it compare to 'stand alone' emulators for the C64 and Atari 8 bit computers?

Looks like I remembered correctly about the prompt string, and it even still works under XP, although isn't exactly convincing:

EDIT: Just noticed my typo, would be much better if I'd spelt it right, hahaha!

carlsson
July 2nd, 2008, 11:33 PM
As long as you only play around with the Basic prompt, I think MESS is 100% of any other emulator. The differences would only show when running some more advanced software. I don't know about the Atari 8-bit, but I'm sure there are intricate tricks on the C64 not yet properly emulated by any emulator. On the other hand, some of these tricks would rely on a specific chip revision so they wouldn't run so well on some real machines of the wrong build neither.

compaqxp
July 3rd, 2008, 03:20 AM
The NEC PC 8201A does what you would expect it too:
http://usera.imagecave.com/Connor/syntaxerror/IMG_0016.JPG

the TRS-80 Pocket computer give me this error. I've never actually seen this error until now:
http://usera.imagecave.com/Connor/syntaxerror/IMG_0019.JPG

Ok this this isn't vintage, but what the heck:
http://usera.imagecave.com/Connor/syntaxerror/IMG_0020.JPG

This one isn't quite vintage, but it is the one I'm most worried about...I think it's having a bad day..... :)
http://usera.imagecave.com/Connor/syntaxerror/IMG_0021.JPG

Vint
July 3rd, 2008, 12:50 PM
Ok, how many remember the old artificial intelligence program, Eliza?
I believe it was one of the first popular programs for the TRS-80 Model 1. Anyway, the program acted as a therapist emulator and would give a response to whatever you typed on the keyboard. For example; the computer might say, "Hello, how are you today?" You might respond, "Well, I'm a little under the weather."
Eliza might come back with;
"Why do you think you're a little under the weather?" And you'd banter back and forth typing things in to try to trip the program up. Here's a 'modern day' example online if you'd like to give it a go.
http://www-ai.ijs.si/eliza/eliza.html
Anyway, I was wondering what the old TRS-80 model 1 Eliza program might respond with, given the statement "IF YOU'RE HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT, SNYTAX ERROR!"
I don't have my original TRS-80 Model 1 anymore:( so I have to fire up an emulator. I used the Real-80 Pro Emulator by Zoltán Kollár, because I believe it's the best TRS-80 CLONE emulator. It's very user friendly. Available here if you're interested - It's free of course;
http://ht.homeserver.hu/html/english.html
Info on the Real-80 Pro is here;
http://ht.homeserver.hu/html/englishreal80pro.html
I then auto loaded the Eliza program into the emulator and it showed the following response to the SYNTAX ERROR statement.

http://www.vintage-computer.com/vcforum/picture.php?albumid=1&pictureid=37

In case you can't quite read the screen there, it says:

HOW DO YOU DO -- PLEASE STATE YOUR PROBLEM.

IF YOU'RE HAPPY AND YOU KNOW IT, SYNTAX ERROR!

HOW COULD IT BECOME LIKELY THAT I'M HAPPY AND I KNOW IT?

im_an_alien
July 3rd, 2008, 02:31 PM
I just tried it in the "modern day example" you posted:

You: If you're happy and you know it, syntax error!
Eliza: Do you wish that youre happy and i know it syntax error?

Aparantly the TRS-80 version has better grammar, dispite the lack of proper capitalization :p

TroyW
July 4th, 2008, 10:08 PM
Hehehe, I remember Eliza, anyone else remember Elizas relation, Dr Sbaitso, by Creative Labs?

Also thought others here might get a laugh out of this page: http://www.rinkworks.com/stupid/cs_misc.shtml :D