PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with an old Toshiba T1850



Peter S
July 21st, 2008, 11:59 AM
Hi,

I just got my Toshiba T1850 out of storage. When I try to boot it up I get a reading that states "Warning: Resume Failure. Press any key to continue." When I type a key I only get a blinking hyphen on the screen. Any ideas on how to get this thing running again. I don't know computers from a hole in the ground. Thanks for any and all help in this matter.

Sincerely,

Peter S

genocho
July 21st, 2008, 05:45 PM
Hi,

Look this web, perhaps may help you, my skills of english are so bad.

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/manuals/userguides/Portege/3010CT/chap0004.html

Perhaps your problem is, because the laptop was hibernate and the battery and the rtc clock are discharged, like you see the rtc clock tooks 48 hours in charge, so try to recharge it. The rtc battery not is the same as the laptop, is an internal lithium.

Check it out, and tell us if works, regards,

Genocho.

MikeS
July 21st, 2008, 06:22 PM
Try this:

-Immediately after powering up, keep tapping the ESC key; you should get a message saying, "Check System. Then press [F1] key."

-Press F1; you should be in the Setup menu.

-In the OTHERS section (bottom right) you should have a Resume Mode option, which is probably set to Resume. Cursor down to that option with the cursor keys and then press the space bar to change it to Boot.

-Press END and Y, and with a little luck you should be in business.

mike

Peter S
July 22nd, 2008, 07:07 AM
Hi,

Look this web, perhaps may help you, my skills of english are so bad.

http://www.csd.toshiba.com/content/support/manuals/userguides/Portege/3010CT/chap0004.html

Perhaps your problem is, because the laptop was hibernate and the battery and the rtc clock are discharged, like you see the rtc clock tooks 48 hours in charge, so try to recharge it. The rtc battery not is the same as the laptop, is an internal lithium.

Check it out, and tell us if works, regards,

Genocho.
Thanks for your help with this. I will give it a try.

Best,

Peter

Peter S
July 22nd, 2008, 07:15 AM
Try this:

-Immediately after powering up, keep tapping the ESC key; you should get a message saying, "Check System. Then press [F1] key."

-Press F1; you should be in the Setup menu.

-In the OTHERS section (bottom right) you should have a Resume Mode option, which is probably set to Resume. Cursor down to that option with the cursor keys and then press the space bar to change it to Boot.

-Press END and Y, and with a little luck you should be in business.

mike
Hi Mike,

I appreciate your help with this. I will try what you suggest.

Thanks again,

Peter