PDA

View Full Version : Saving Programs on Jupiter Ace Emulator (ACE32)?



CP/M User
June 3rd, 2003, 02:04 AM
Welcome Jupiter Ace enthisiests!

(I hope you don't mind me posting my questions
to this messageboard, however if there is to be
interest specifically for this computer I'm
suggesting that this messageboard is more than
perfect).

Anyway, I wish to know how I can save the
Forth Programs that I may write (I didn't want
to go into the task of writing something first &
worry about saving it later). Is this possible in
Ace32? Unfortunately I didn't see anything in
the FAQ about this.

Any help would be great, thanks.

David Buttery
June 3rd, 2003, 09:17 AM
My WinXP system won't run Ace32, but it seems that [F7] will save a snapshot into a file called SNAP.ACE (I don't think you get a choice of name, so will have to rename manually if you want to archive them), and [F5] will load it back in. You can also use TAP files of a similar format to Spectrum ones, but I don't know how to do that in Ace32.

The Jupiter emulation in MESS is pretty good, and emulates both cartridge and cassette, but I haven't fiddled with it enough to find out how easy it us to use.

CP/M User
June 3rd, 2003, 09:15 PM
"David Buttery" wrote in message:

Nice to hear from you David! :-)

> My WinXP system won't run Ace32, but it seems
> that [F7] will save a snapshot into a file called
> SNAP.ACE (I don't think you get a choice of
> name, so will have to rename manually if you
> want to archive them), and [F5] will load it back
> in. You 'can' also use TAP files of a similar
> format to Spectrum ones, but I don't know how
> to do that in Ace32.

> The Jupiter emulation in MESS is pretty good,
> and emulates both cartridge and cassette, but
> I haven't fiddled with it enough to find out how
> easy it us to use.

Maybe I should be trying MESS out. But Me & my
machine tend to like DOS more in terms of
emulation. I do know how to load the programs
in, so I'm not sure if saving them is a simular
sort of process. Some of the files for the Games
I have for the Jupiter Ace, might give me a clue
in terms of if they were originally saved as a
snapshot. But I do remember calling a command
in there which lists the routines as well as
including the Forths ones.

Paul Robson might know more since he wrote the
Ace Emulator & I could probably e-mail about it,
but I'd like to share stuff like this in a community
rather than one-on-one stuff. I don't really want
to go to the lengths of posting in comp.lang.forth
& comp.sys.sinclair either because those areas
don't deal with the machine in particular. It's like
telling Amstrad users to post their BASIC code in
comp.lang.basic.misc or CP/M code specific for the
Amstrad written in Turbo Pascal into
comp.lang.pascal.borland, generally because it's
machine related it's off-topic to others who do
read it. Sure you might find the od Amstrad person
reading that Pascal newsgroup, but majority of
them hang around comp.sys.amstrad.8bit.

Cheers.

David Buttery
June 4th, 2003, 06:15 AM
I do remember calling a command
in there which lists the routines as well as
including the Forths ones.

Sounds like vlist to me - that gives you a list of all the defined Forth words, including the ones you've defined yourself.

CP/M User
June 4th, 2003, 02:39 PM
"David Buttery" wrote in message:

Hi David,

>> I do remember calling a command
>> in there which lists the routines as
>> well as including the Forths ones.

> Sounds like 'vlist' to me - that gives you a
> list of all the defined Forth words, including
> the ones you've defined yourself.

Yes, that sounds like the instruction. And
'List <word defined>' shows the instructions
for that particular word.

I was amazed to see that Forth can use a
multiple number of lines with various
instructions & that a semi-column (';') is
used to end the instructions for a
particular word.

This stuff really catches on once you get into
the basic's of it.

Cheers.

CP/M User
June 16th, 2003, 02:07 AM
Okay, I'll just come to a close here, by
stating that it looks like the only way of
saving your forth programs is through a
snap shot. Having after examined the
available words (save & bsave) in
particular, I am certain that the ROM
hasn't been patched in any way to suit
the needs of the emulator.

Incidently David, the snap shots which
are saved under Ace32 are loaded the
same way as the ordinary tape images
are loaded (only the tape images
require a load filename & something to
execute it - depending on the program).
Snap shots however are loaded instantly
& durning the saving of a snap shot the
snap shot can be renamed to whatever
you desire.

Cheers.