PDA

View Full Version : Disk Importing/ Exporting.



facattack
August 8th, 2008, 09:29 AM
Ugh. How do you write a disk for an Apple II GS? I've got a program called "Cider Press" for my XP computer that lets me import/ export files that I"ve downloaded off the internet but it doesn't have an ability to save on a floppy disk. Keep the explanation in layman's terms, too, please.

magnusfalkirk
August 8th, 2008, 02:26 PM
Ugh. How do you write a disk for an Apple II GS? I've got a program called "Cider Press" for my XP computer that lets me import/ export files that I"ve downloaded off the internet but it doesn't have an ability to save on a floppy disk. Keep the explanation in layman's terms, too, please.

You don't need Cider Press for all you GS programs. If the image is a .dsk image or .2mg image all you need is:

http://adtpro.sourceforge.net/

and the right cables and you can transfer the image from your Windows machine to the GS and save it to a disk.

If, on the other hand, some of your images are .sdk then you can use Cider Press to transfer them to .dsk image. To do this first open Cider Press, then click on the disk button in the toolbar to create a new blank .dsk image. Give it a name and save it. Then open the .sdk image and copy the contents to the clipboard. Then open your new .dsk image and paste the clipboard contents into it. You now have a .dsk image, or .po or .do depending on what type of image you create, that you can transfer to the GS and save to a real disk.

Hopefully that will help you,
Dean

P.S. Glad to see you're posting here again. I sent you a private message quite a while back when you were talking about your GS but never heard anything from you.

facattack
August 10th, 2008, 05:25 AM
http://i36.tinypic.com/2i6jm8i.jpg Which cable do I need? Here's the back of the unit. The first one is the headphone jack. The second is the modem jack (picture of a phone), the third is a printer jack (sheet of paper), and the fourth is a game plug (joystick).

magnusfalkirk
August 11th, 2008, 08:03 AM
http://i36.tinypic.com/2i6jm8i.jpg Which cable do I need? Here's the back of the unit. The first one is the headphone jack. The second is the modem jack (picture of a phone), the third is a printer jack (sheet of paper), and the fourth is a game plug (joystick).

You'll need a cable to hook up to the modem port. If you've been to the ADTPro page: http://adtpro.sourceforge.net/ you can also contact the guy responsible for ADTPro to get a cable to hook up to the GS modem port. I got one from him and it works great.

Dean

facattack
August 15th, 2008, 03:20 PM
I just looked at the diagram on the ADTPRO page... it does indicate the modem thing. I'm also embarassed that I marked the outside of the case with letter because I kept getting annoyed by all of the times I re-opened the case to see what was in which bay.


The thing that confuses me is it suggest going into BASIC mode and gives suggestions of commands. I wonder if I can install ADTPRO client side into the II GS's Vulcan Drive. This might not be the case. It seems to load into the RAM & store something that will head into the disk drive.

magnusfalkirk
August 15th, 2008, 07:14 PM
The thing that confuses me is it suggest going into BASIC mode and gives suggestions of commands. I wonder if I can install ADTPRO client side into the II GS's Vulcan Drive. This might not be the case. It seems to load into the RAM & store something that will head into the disk drive.

You might want to contact David Schmidt, the guy responsible for ADTPro, and see if he can do something to let you install the Apple II ADTPro client on a hard drive. I know that once you have it up and running on the II it checks every drive available to transfer an image to.

The problem is that since all ADTPro is designed to do is transfer disk images you can't really use it to install anything on your hard drive. So you'd still need either a 3.5 or 5.25 drive to transfer the appropriate image to.

Dean