PDA

View Full Version : ATI EGA Wonder 800 install into a 5155... help!



aaron7
November 7th, 2008, 02:32 PM
Just recieved my ATI EGA Wonder 800. I'm installing it in my IBM 5155 using the two wire internal connector attached to pin header P2 on the card.

My question is... what jumper and dip switch settings do I need to set?

http://www.uncreativelabs.net/hwinfo/ati.htm

Terry Yager
November 7th, 2008, 07:20 PM
http://www.ccs-a.com/th99/v/txt/52215.txt

--T

aaron7
November 7th, 2008, 08:16 PM
Though I'm sure that helps me... I don't know what settings I need! I mean, I can see HOW to set the card, but I don't know what I'm SUPPOSED to do. Do I want EGA? CGA? Composite? I'm totally lost.

JohnElliott
November 8th, 2008, 03:58 AM
The entry on the second page reading


Composite (PC On On Off
portable)

suggests that you should set the monitor type to composite mono (switches 5 and 6 on, switch 7 off). The first page then gives you the settings for switches 1-4. You should also set the motherboard switches for EGA/VGA.

aaron7
November 8th, 2008, 06:31 AM
Ok, so I have this so far:

5 on
6 on
7 off

But I'm not sure what 1,2,3,4,8 should be.

JohnElliott
November 8th, 2008, 08:55 AM
Assuming that 5-6 on and 7 off are the correct switches for the 5155, you can find the corresponding settings for 1-4 from the first page:


Composite mono on on on off on on off


(ie, 1-3 on, 4 off).

The same page suggests you start with 8 on and if that doesn't work turn it off.

MikeS
November 9th, 2008, 08:42 AM
Just curious: are the manual and utility disks for the EGA Wonders on line anywhere?

Also, does anyone know the difference between the EGA Wonders and the 800 by any chance?

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 06:50 AM
When I set the switches as stated above, my monitor just flickers... any ideas? I also get one long and two short beeps now.

JohnElliott
November 11th, 2008, 09:55 AM
Did you set the motherboard DIP switches for EGA/VGA? (SW1/5 and SW1/6 both on). If not, it'll be expecting to find a CGA card, and that could give rise to a 1 long 2 short error.

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 10:03 AM
Ahh ok, didn't do that. SW1/6 was off.

Now I have no beeps, but still the flickering screen (whole screen is static and looks like the v-hold is way off)

JohnElliott
November 11th, 2008, 10:44 AM
Then I'm pretty much out of ideas. I suppose if you've got an external CGA or composite monitor, you could plug that into the back of the card and see if you get a picture on it.

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 11:03 AM
Well I know the PC works fine with the stock "COLOR GRAPHICS" card, and I know this card was tested working fine when I bought it... so it has to be a setting! Wish I knew more about this stuff.

JohnElliott
November 11th, 2008, 03:08 PM
You could turn switch 8 off, I suppose, and see if that makes a difference.

I've just looked through my collection of video cards, but I don't seem to have an EGA Wonder 800 to test here -- only an 800+, which doesn't have any DIP switches or composite connectors.

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 03:33 PM
I've tried it with 8 on and off. Sigh.

Terry Yager
November 11th, 2008, 03:39 PM
Sorry I can't help much, it's been too long since I set one up. You really should jack-in an external monitor and try to get it working that war first, just to be sure everything's working ok. If you can't get a display, there may be sum'n wrong with the board.

--T

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 03:43 PM
Well I know my 5155 monitor is fine, but it has just two wires... I could try connecting it to the composite rear connector I supose. I have no 9 pin monitors to try.

Terry Yager
November 11th, 2008, 03:56 PM
Well I know my 5155 monitor is fine, but it has just two wires... I could try connecting it to the composite rear connector I supose. I have no 9 pin monitors to try.

Yes, it needs to be plugged to the connector at the rear of the board (closest to the outside of the case, near the metal support bracket). You've been trying it with the other connector? That's the problem, I'm sure...

--T

Terry Yager
November 11th, 2008, 04:10 PM
Here's the graphic:

http://th99.dyndns.org/v/A-B/52215.htm

CN4 is the one you want. The one next to it is for a lightpen. The switches & jumpers should be set for EGA or CGA, if you don't like the flicker. (It's only evident when running EGA programs, IIRC).

--T

aaron7
November 11th, 2008, 05:17 PM
Correct, that's where I'm plugging it in. By flicker I don't mean just a little, I mean its like the V-Hold is very off and it's constantly moving fast... can't explain it.

Anonymous Coward
November 11th, 2008, 05:24 PM
You may find the answer in this thread:

http://www.uncreativelabs.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=899

MikeS
November 11th, 2008, 10:17 PM
You may find the answer in this thread:

http://www.uncreativelabs.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=899
----
Are ya still looking for the manual & disks?

aaron7
November 12th, 2008, 04:48 AM
Ok, that guy on uncreative labs said he had the same problem but changing the address fixed that... how do I go about doing that?

Anonymous Coward
November 12th, 2008, 06:09 AM
The settings should be listed here:

http://artofhacking.com/th99/v/A-B/52215.htm

aaron7
November 12th, 2008, 07:26 AM
Ahh, guess I'm screwed... the address jumpers aren't there; just soldered wires.

Anonymous Coward
November 12th, 2008, 03:02 PM
Do you have any soldering skills? It should be pretty easy to change if you have an iron.

aaron7
November 12th, 2008, 04:03 PM
Yes, but I figured they were like that (instead of jumpers) for a reason... like the card doesn't support the other addresses?

Anonymous Coward
November 12th, 2008, 04:13 PM
Not necessarily. I guess sometimes they're just too lazy to solder the extra jumper if they figure nobody is going to use it. Some of my Future Domain cards are like this.

MikeS
November 13th, 2008, 07:00 AM
PJ, you didn't answer if you're still looking for the EGA Wonder manual & disks as you said in that other thread?