PDA

View Full Version : Creative CT1350B in my IBM 5155?



aaron7
November 8th, 2008, 06:37 AM
I have this card: http://www.electricgypsy.net/computers/images/500016.jpg

Can I get it to work on my IBM 5155? If so, what drivers would I use? I currently have DOS 3.3!

per
November 8th, 2008, 07:04 AM
I have this card: http://www.electricgypsy.net/computers/images/500016.jpg

Can I get it to work on my IBM 5155? If so, what drivers would I use? I currently have DOS 3.3!

For normal older Soundblaster cards, all you have to do is to set a "BLASTER=[hardware settings]" line in your autoexec.bat file (see http://www.rinkworks.com/apogee/s/6.4.2.shtml or http://www.angelfire.com/home/Luke1971/setblaster.htm ). If your card has some special extra functions, you problably need drivers for them.

Chuckster_in_Jax
November 8th, 2008, 07:38 AM
You may have problems running anything useful that uses sound on a machine with an 8088 processor. Most of the programs that run on those computers just generate beeps and squeaks. However, you may try these settings to get it running:

http://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000360.htm

Amigaz
November 8th, 2008, 07:39 AM
Yes, the set blaster command is enough.

For your card it's: SET BLASTER=A220 I7 D1 T2

A handful of games needs drivers like CT-VOICE.DRV for example, moonstone is one of them but overall you're fine without any drivers

aaron7
November 8th, 2008, 10:54 AM
What should the jumper settings be for the card? And does DOS 3.3 support the set blaster command?

Amigaz
November 8th, 2008, 11:24 AM
What should the jumper settings be for the card? And does DOS 3.3 support the set blaster command?

http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/sound-cards-multimedia/CREATIVE-LABS-INC-Sound-card-SOUNDBLASTER-2-0-CT13.html

Set it to the default settings what early games expect :

Port 220
IRQ 7

Can't comment on the rest, never ran that old DOS version