PDA

View Full Version : Packard Bell Statesman Plus info



Unknown_K
January 27th, 2009, 02:07 PM
Anybody ever use one of these Statesman laptops? It is a 486 SLC2 50 with a 200MB hd, 4MB RAM. The unit does not turn on with the battery installed, but works fine with the battery removed and on the power brick (shorted battery cells?).

I got the unit with manuals and original box, no software. Looks like the HD has seen better days (bad sectors) so I am reformatting it. If I can figure out how to get into the unit I will eventually replace the HD.

babsier
October 10th, 2010, 10:19 AM
Hi, I found an old Packard Bell Statesman Laptop at a second hand store and would like to try to get it going. There is a small square door on the back of the laptop that has a square metal fence with nothing in it . I fear that some chip or processor is missing. Do you have any advice ??? Have not tried to open it yet and cannot find where the hard drive is to see if there is one. Were lucky to find it with the power supply. Please write.

IBMMuseum
October 10th, 2010, 10:44 AM
That's just the position to put the 387SX or 387SL coprocessor, the unit will operate fine without it...