PDA

View Full Version : 1100FD N00B questions



TandyMan100
January 29th, 2009, 06:08 AM
:confused: This n00b needs help! :confused:


1. Can I run any MS-DOS app on it?
2. Will regular PC-jr or 1000 apps run on it?
3. Can I use Hyperterm and a null-modem cable for file transfers?

Thank you,

per
January 29th, 2009, 06:48 AM
:confused: This n00b needs help! :confused:


1. Can I run any MS-DOS app on it?
2. Will regular PC-jr or 1000 apps run on it?
3. Can I use Hyperterm and a null-modem cable for file transfers?

Thank you,

I would say:

1. Yes, It's PC-compatible.
2. Some, not programs written to only run on the PCjr/1000 (like programs taking use of the 3-voice sound chip).
3. Yes, as long as baud-rates are taken care of.

TandyMan100
January 29th, 2009, 06:52 AM
So... Where can I find apps for this computer?

per
January 29th, 2009, 06:56 AM
So... Where can I find apps for this computer?

Srry, I was mistaking it for another Tandy computer. Post edited.

kb2syd
January 29th, 2009, 07:15 AM
So... Where can I find apps for this computer?

Short of buying them at EBay, GoodWill, or some online liqudator, you're limited to what pirated or public domain stuff you can download. There are hundreds of programs that will run on this machine. I think it is limited to CGA resolution.

Out of respect for Eric I will not provide links here. Also, if any moderator thinks this out of line, go ahead and kill the post.

TandyMan100
January 29th, 2009, 07:49 AM
Would I be able to use the programs here: http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/ ?

kb2syd
January 29th, 2009, 07:58 AM
Would I be able to use the programs here: http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/ ?

Well there's
MS-DOS 3.3 and DeskMate for the 1100FD - 4 diskette images, and Tandy 1100FD setup
and some others.

But, as someone has already said, this will probably not work with anything that requires the Tandy 1000 graphics or sound.

patscc
January 29th, 2009, 08:24 AM
kb2syd said...MS-DOS 3.3 and DeskMate for the 1100FD
Dos & Deskmate are in the onboard ROM.

I'd just try running different stuff and play with it. There's really not a lot you can do to screw up a 1100FD, since all of the boot code is in ROM (or maybe it's EPROM), but the point is it's not alterable by software.

patscc

TandyMan100
January 29th, 2009, 08:43 AM
I wonder if Microsoft Flight Simulator 4.0 in monochrome would work. I just uses a PC Speaker.

patscc
January 29th, 2009, 08:59 AM
TandyMan100 said...I wonder if Microsoft Flight Simulator 4.0 in monochrome would work
So do I. Can you try it out and post back ?
You'd have to run without the joystick( or yoke ), though.

patscc

TandyMan100
January 29th, 2009, 10:19 AM
I will. I'll try next Wednesday. Busy schedule.

patscc
January 29th, 2009, 10:29 AM
Very cool. If you have a camera, a couple of screenshots would be cool.
patscc

Terry Yager
January 29th, 2009, 10:52 AM
:confused: This n00b needs help! :confused:


1. Can I run any MS-DOS app on it?

It's 100% Compatible, so it'll run almost all PC software, some better than others. YMMV.


2. Will regular PC-jr or 1000 apps run on it?

Yes, but not in Tandy Mode, as noted by others above.


3. Can I use Hyperterm and a null-modem cable for file transfers?

Yes...or no...well, maybe. I always have trouble with Hyperterm, but again, YMMV. You'll have better luck with an old computer running MSDOS and a comms program.



Thank you,

Also, oldskool.org is the place to go for Tandy software. They have almost everything, as well as many other generic PC programs.

You really do want to d/l the bootdisk(s) tho. They contain software essential to the 1100FD, especially the Setup program. IIRC, there's also a small comms program for file transfers.

--T

EddieDX4
February 2nd, 2009, 01:24 PM
I will. I'll try next Wednesday. Busy schedule.

Yes, it works with FS4. I have one.

Ironically, as I'm reading this thread, I'm running FS4 in Demo mode on an HP LS/12 (Zenith SuperSPORT 286) testing battery life on its 3+ lbs battery pack.

So far it's at 2 hours... Still going. Let's see how much more juice it gives.

TandyMan100
February 3rd, 2009, 03:50 AM
Yes, it works with FS4. I have one.

Ironically, as I'm reading this thread, I'm running FS4 in Demo mode on an HP LS/12 (Zenith SuperSPORT 286) testing battery life on its 3+ lbs battery pack.

So far it's at 2 hours... Still going. Let's see how much more juice it gives.
Only two hours? My Tandy M-100 runs for 26.

EddieDX4
February 4th, 2009, 01:01 AM
Only two hours? My Tandy M-100 runs for 26.

:p

It made it to 2 hours and 21 minutes. Keep in mind this thing has a backlit double-scanned display (had it set to max brightness), runs at 12mhz, has an old 21mb HD, and the floppy was being accessed continiously during my test.

I think during casual use I could squeeze 3+ hours. Not bad for a 20 year old NiCd battery pack.

Terry Yager
February 4th, 2009, 12:49 PM
2.5 - 3 hours sounds about right. Those battery packs are pretty good, but even with new cells, I've never had one go over three hours.

--T