PDA

View Full Version : Help with Xenix

Echoes
February 1st, 2009, 09:21 AM
Hi,
I'm new here, so let me introduce myself a bit before getting to the hot stuff :)
I'm an Italian HCI student, who started his love-story with computers on a pentium 200 mmx (hey, I'm young!) and Windows 95 OSR2 and the wonderful Fat32.
Years later, I got involved in retrocomputing, and obviously that's why I'm here.

Ok, now back in-topic: I'm setting up a site for those who want to land on the world of Xenix. It seems that finding software and docs for this OS is not as easy as it could be, and I'm trying to do my best to solve this annoying problem.
So, do you want to help me sending what you have?
That's what I need for my site:

dd copies of installation disks for every version of xenix still present (Xenix for the PDP-11 won't be easy to find, so probably we should say it's lost)
dd copies of software/drivers disks
PDF copies of the manuals
Guides, HOW-TO, knowledge and experience you want to share

Tenox is exempted, he has already offered his help when I asked by mail :D

Chuck(G)
February 1st, 2009, 02:40 PM
I caution you to contact SCO (http://www.sco.com/) before you post any copyrighted material. They own exclusive rights to Xenix (now being peddled as SCO Unix) and have been known to be extremely predatory when it comes to IP rights.

Chuckster_in_Jax
February 1st, 2009, 06:53 PM
Good luck trying to find information on Xenix. I tried recently and came up with very little. There are diskette images of a number of Xenix versions on Bittorent and Vetusware.com but no documentation. I tried installing Xenix 386 from these archives, but they were missing one of the diskettes and installation failed.

I caution you to contact SCO (http://www.sco.com/) before you post any copyrighted material. They own exclusive rights to Xenix (now being peddled as SCO Unix) and have been known to be extremely predatory when it comes to IP rights.