PDA

View Full Version : Amiga 500 VGA with NEC-Multisync 3D



MaTel
February 4th, 2009, 07:35 AM
Hello,

is it possible to use the NEC Multisync 3D Monitor with my old Amiga 500 without any scandoublers? I only want to use the original Commodore Amiga->VGA Adaptor.

Regards from Hamburg Germany
Marc-Tell

Amigaz
February 4th, 2009, 07:50 AM
Hello,

is it possible to use the NEC Multisync 3D Monitor with my old Amiga 500 without any scandoublers? I only want to use the original Commodore Amiga->VGA Adaptor.

Regards from Hamburg Germany
Marc-Tell

Yes.

I use to have such a monitor but it have to be the true Nec Multisync 3D model (exact model name)
This is the monitor I owned (sold it 1 year ago)

http://www.amiga.org/modules/myalbum/photos/1731.jpg

barythrin
February 4th, 2009, 07:58 AM
I hadn't tried with a 500 but when I bought my first Amiga 2000 and 3000 in 98 (2 Amiga bbses in an auction on feebay) it had a 15" NEC Multisync monitor but I don't recall it being a 3d but it did work with the 2000 and 3000 at least.

Trixter
February 4th, 2009, 09:51 AM
Hello,

is it possible to use the NEC Multisync 3D Monitor with my old Amiga 500 without any scandoublers? I only want to use the original Commodore Amiga->VGA Adaptor.


Hardly any monitors can go as low as 15.7KHz horizontal, but i believe the NEC Multisync series could. It should work.

Amigaz
February 4th, 2009, 10:55 AM
Hardly any monitors can go as low as 15.7KHz horizontal, but i believe the NEC Multisync series could. It should work.

Not just any Nec Multisync will do like I stated but the model I have in my photo is confirmed to work

Unknown_K
February 4th, 2009, 12:07 PM
I have a NEC 3ds model (15khz sync) on my A1200 currently. You need one of those metal commodore adapters to VGA for it to work (it has some kind of chip inside to buffer the output). I tried using just a generic adapter and got tearing in the video, but that could just have been a A1200 chipset issue.

There are dozens of old monitors that sync down to 15khz, most of which have died and been recycled ages ago.

billdeg
February 4th, 2009, 04:38 PM
I have used one of these:
http://vintagecomputer.net/Magnavox/colordisplay/
"Magnavox Color Display Professional Series"

bd

gerrydoire
February 4th, 2009, 06:00 PM
I once had a Nec3D connected to my Amiga 500, the 500 I still have, the NEC long gone.

Amiga is still a top notch computer when you look at its technical feats..

Unknown_K
February 4th, 2009, 07:55 PM
I have used one of these:
http://vintagecomputer.net/Magnavox/colordisplay/
"Magnavox Color Display Professional Series"

bd

Those Magnavox monitors are not all the same, some have the analog input for Amiga and some do not. I have one for a C128 that had Composite in, and digital TTL (CGA/80 column C128 mode) but the analog RGB in was never installed so there is a plug for that port.

They are basically like the Amiga 1084 monitors (Phillips made?) where there are many configurations out there.