PDA

View Full Version : Questions about 1541 Disk Drive

Aprules2
March 22nd, 2009, 10:03 AM
Im still kind of new to owning a real c64, I always played with the Emulators. I just picked up a 1541 Disk drive from the local flea market, the guy I bought it from owns one of those clean out companies so he didn't know anything about it $2 later it was mine. Well to make a long story shore it has 2 silver toggle switches drilled into the front of the case, the drive only seems to read or write when they are both facing up. Does anyone know what this mod is? Also when connecting the drive does it matter is its in the left or right plug on the drive. I have an old 5.25 cleaning disk from my IBM is it a good idea to try and use it to clean the drive? Or is there a better way? Just would like to freshen it up if I can. I also just bought an adapter off eBay that goes between my PC and the C64 can I download emulator games and save them to floppies on the C64? Also is there certain Double Sides Double Density Disks that work and some that don't? I had some old IBM ones that worked in the IBM PC but wouldn't format on the C64.
Thanks
Anthony

hexsane
March 22nd, 2009, 11:10 AM
Could be drive # selection. Type flipping them and doing:

LOAD "$",9
LOAD "$",10
LOAD "$",11

Possible it has a JiffyDOS ROM installed and one of the switched will switch between JiffyDOS and standard ROM.

The connectors in the back are for chaining. It doesn't matter which you plug them into.

Yes you can use X1541 like cables to save to the actual drive for loading on a real C64.

I've never had a problem using any DSDD disks in a 1541 even those already formatted in other systems. I had some issues with 1571 drives and already formatted disks though (which still formatted in the 1541, go figure).

-Matt

Druid6900
March 22nd, 2009, 07:33 PM