PDA

View Full Version : Otrona Help.



Roflolnoob
March 26th, 2009, 09:16 PM
Well i was cleaning out my closet and i found my old Otrona Attache, and i got it out and i hooked it up. And when i turned it on the moniter's bulb went on but nothing was displayed. Does anyone have any idea what the problem may be?

Terry Yager
March 26th, 2009, 10:35 PM
Boot disk?

--T

Chuck(G)
March 26th, 2009, 10:36 PM
When you say "the monitor's bulb went on", are you saying that you could peer into the rear of the machine and see the filament in the CRT glowing?

The Attache for as small as it is, is a pretty complicated little box. Fortunately, there are complete schematics online.

Roflolnoob
March 31st, 2009, 05:52 PM
When you say "the monitor's bulb went on", are you saying that you could peer into the rear of the machine and see the filament in the CRT glowing?

The Attache for as small as it is, is a pretty complicated little box. Fortunately, there are complete schematics online.

There are small flickers of green text when i shake the power cord around a little. And i can see some illumination from the CRT that is partially-visible.


Boot disk?

--T
I have tried boot disks for both MS-DOS and CPM with no succes but a small flicker as said above.

Chuck(G)
April 1st, 2009, 01:43 PM
This sounds as if it might be an intermittent connection or even a cold-solder joint. How comfortable are you with servicing electronics?

Roflolnoob
April 5th, 2009, 08:00 PM
Well if i have a clear idea of what to do or what im should look for i would be comfortable doing so.

Chuck(G)
April 5th, 2009, 08:26 PM
Well if i have a clear idea of what to do or what im should look for i would be comfortable doing so.

I'd start by removing the unit from its case and chekcing/reseating all connectors.

Let's see where that goes...

Bill_Loguidice
April 6th, 2009, 08:49 AM
My Otrona 8:16 model did something similar, sadly. It's such a relatively tiny machine and packed so tightly with components, that I'm finding it hard to work with in any way myself.

Roflolnoob
April 6th, 2009, 05:38 PM
I'd start by removing the unit from its case and chekcing/reseating all connectors.

Let's see where that goes...

Ive checked almost everything with nothing loose or anything looking wrong. I will keep looking though.

Chuck(G)
April 6th, 2009, 06:51 PM
Ive checked almost everything with nothing loose or anything looking wrong. I will keep looking though.

If wiggling the power cord seems to produce an intermittent display, try to observe what the wiggling is doing with the components. It could easily be a cold solder joint or broken trace in the power supply.