PDA

View Full Version : My Commodore find



snq
March 30th, 2009, 08:13 AM
I found some C64/Amiga stuff today so I figured I'd share some pictures. I know it's not the find of the year or anything but I'm quite happy with this stuff :)

So here it is!
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5759.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5759.jpg)

A 64C with original box and some accessories
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5761.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5761.jpg)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5767.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5767.jpg)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5764.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5764.jpg)

And an A500 also with some accessories
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5765.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5765.jpg)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5766.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5766.jpg)

Software :)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5760.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5760.jpg)

Reading material
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5762.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5762.jpg)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5763.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5763.jpg)

And some game manuals, these are for sale/trade if anyone's interested in them.
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5768.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-30/img_5768.jpg)

That's it.. Thanks for looking :)

Olds-kool gamer
March 30th, 2009, 09:17 AM
Looks all very nice to me and in great condition.

You should be able to have many a retro blast on those.

Who needs XBox360’s & PS3’s when you got some old Commodores.:mrgreen:

snq
March 30th, 2009, 09:50 AM
Yea, the overall shape is quite nice! They need a good cleaning and I need a new emblem/sticker for the C64 (it's cracked) but other than that nothing wrong with it.

I just hooked up the C64 and it works great. It's been about 20 years since I last used one of these but I managed to write a looping hello world at first try ;)
The tapes seem to be pretty useless though unfortunately, I haven't been able to load a single game so far. it sometimes finds something but then gets a load error later. Oh well, there's other sources for games :)

Can anyone tell me if the printer is complete? It looks like there's something missing at the back but that could just be the paper..

Luzur
March 30th, 2009, 09:55 AM
did you find them or buy them?

snq
March 30th, 2009, 09:57 AM
Both, first I found them and then I bought them ;)

Luzur
March 30th, 2009, 09:59 AM
ah, i thought you had been on some dumpster diving. :)

snq
March 30th, 2009, 10:08 AM
That would've been a lot better, and I wouldn't have had to drive 130 km for it either :) I got a good deal though, apparently the phone had rung off the hook but I was the first to call and the seller kept the stuff for me. She was really suprised by the big interest in this "old junk".

Olds-kool gamer
March 30th, 2009, 10:34 AM
Re: the games not loading.

Try cleaning the head first with non abrasive cloth or an ear bud.
These tapes are getting old now and depending on how they’ve been stored they might just be knacked.

If you really want to use the C64 properly, I suggest you get hold of a disc drive like a 1541 or similar.

It only takes a few seconds for a game to load (providing your drive is working properly) and once you use one you won’t want to go back to tapes.:)

snq
March 30th, 2009, 10:56 AM
I should have a 1541 in the mail any day now. Meanwhile, I'll try cleaning the head and maybe try a couple more tapes, thanks for the tip!

snq
March 30th, 2009, 01:57 PM
I managed to load a game from tape! :)
Unfortunately it was a homemade basic game and not quite one of the classics I had in ming.. It was a question based game, and the first question was if I was a policeman, robber, or player ;)

I also tried some original tapes, and 2 of them worked but I got an out of memory error while loading?

Olds-kool gamer
March 30th, 2009, 02:03 PM
I managed to load a game from tape! :)
Unfortunately it was a homemade basic game and not quite one of the classics I had in ming.. It was a question based game, and the first question was if I was a policeman, robber, or player ;)

I also tried some original tapes, and 2 of them worked but I got an out of memory error while loading?

That’s good to hear, at least you know the tape deck is working.
Tape games are quite cheap and you can pick up a pile on Ebay quite cheap. (Well you can here in the UK)

Once you receive your 1541 then you’re good to go...

The only snag is Disk games are a lot more expensive.:(

tezza
March 30th, 2009, 03:09 PM
It only takes a few seconds for a game to load (providing your drive is working properly) and once you use one you won’t want to go back to tapes.:)

"A few seconds" being a very relative term when it comes to the notoriously slow 1541. :)

However, yes, it it faster than tape.

Tez

Olds-kool gamer
March 30th, 2009, 03:20 PM
"A few seconds" being a very relative term when it comes to the notoriously slow 1541. :)

However, yes, it it faster than tape. Tez

Indeed…:D

But for me it feels like nano seconds.:cool:

I’ve only recently got hold of a C64 disk drive. Couldn’t afford one when they first came out. Only the rich kids had Disk drives.

If memory serves me correctly they cost £299, which back in the 80’s you could have bought a small Island for that…:mrgreen:

snq
March 30th, 2009, 03:28 PM
I was about to write a comment about me apparently being very patient as a child :lol: Loading from tape takes forever, only to end up with a nice load error message. A progress bar really wouldn't have hurt tbh ;)

I never had a disk drive either. But in highschool we had lots of goodies, about 25 C64 all with their own disk drive. And in the room next door about 20 IBM XTs, all original. I bet those are long gone by now...

tezza
March 30th, 2009, 06:36 PM
If memory serves me correctly they cost £299, which back in the 80’s you could have bought a small Island for that…:mrgreen:

Yea..*doing quick 1983 UK-NZ currency calculation in head* It was about the same here. In fact I think the drive cost as much as the C-64 itself!

Most people I knew had tapes, at least for the first year or two.

I hadn't used one of these drives until I got one for my collection a year or so ago. With the first program I loaded, I actually thought the drive was broken and the thing had hung. I was just about the hit the switch when the program started. :)

Tez

Druid6900
March 30th, 2009, 07:30 PM
One thing that might help with the tape loading is to completely fast-forward the tape and then rewind it.

This helps to retension the tape and, sometimes, makes it easier to load.

Retensioning the tape was an automatic insertion operation on almost all tape drive units.

snq
March 31st, 2009, 10:25 AM
The Amiga cleaned up quite nice :)
Last night I removed all keys from the keyboard and put them in a bath to sit overnight. So today I just had to clean the rest and put everything back together.

Keyboard before...
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5773.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5773.jpg)

Scrabble anyone? ;) They don't look this yellow in daylight, but they are slightly discolored.
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5781.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5781.jpg)

Cleaned the cover as well
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5782.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5782.jpg)

And removed all the nasty stuff from underneath the keys
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5784.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5784.jpg)

And everything back together, good as new :)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5788.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5788.jpg)

The diskdrive started working a lot better after a bit of cleaning as well, but a lot of of the disks seem to be bad anyway.


And 2 bonus pics ;)

My first C64 program in 20 years.
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5772.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5772.jpg)

Ahhh, good old police quest! Black and white for some reason, I have to reselect the channel to get color on my TV, figured that out after taking this pic.
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5780.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-03-31/img_5780.jpg)

Olds-kool gamer
March 31st, 2009, 12:10 PM
That’s all looking very nice…

You’ve put a lot of effort into bringing those computers back to their former glory.

Your "hello world" program reminds me of back in the early 80’s me and my friend would go into to all the electrical shops and type our names etc, etc on all the computers before we left...:D

tezza
March 31st, 2009, 01:50 PM
This is the first thing I do to all the vinatage computers I get. Give them a damn good clean!

It's amazing what a difference that can make to how they look.

Tez

snq
March 31st, 2009, 04:56 PM
I'm going to have to use the metal polish as well, I think. Now that it's all cleaned up I can see some spots on the metal cover over the mainboard when looking through the air vents ;)

It feels good cleaning them up, knowing they haven't had a good clean for a lot of years. And clean vintage stuff is so much more appealing than dirty stuff.

snq
April 14th, 2009, 06:32 PM
So today the A600HD got cleaned up, at least partially.
I'm really quite happy with this one, the casing itself almost looks brand new!
On the inside though, it looks like it's had a horrible life! It was full of hair and what not, but it's all nice and clean again now.

So here's what it looks like atm..
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5827.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5827.jpg)

A600HD+A500
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5830.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5830.jpg)

Now for the sad part... The keyboard looks like this!
What happened here? :? Someone must've replaced a bunch of keys?
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5824.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5824.jpg)

Most of them look like this.. Really time for retrobright now, because I refuse to put keys that are this yellow in a case that is that white.
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5833.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5833.jpg)



And another bonus pic :)
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5835.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-14/img_5835.jpg)

pontus
April 14th, 2009, 10:26 PM
Nice :) the 600HD is cute.

It's not to uncommon for keys to yellow differently, perhaps they are from different batches? My C128 has the same problem.

snq
April 15th, 2009, 05:47 AM
Could be, but the difference is pretty huge I think. Look at the "Å" key, it looks like it's never seen any daylight. My other theory was that the key caps that are still white have been covered in dirt for many years ;)

I'm thinking of transplanting most of the key caps from the A500 for now as I'm not really using it anyway. There's a couple that won't fit but most of them have the right size.
I live in "the woods" and getting the right ingredients for retrobright might take a while. My girlfriend warned me that the people at the pharmacy might give me weird faces when I ask for the ingredients.. Apparently these ingredients are used in large quantities for something with mushrooms as well ;)

Terry Yager
April 15th, 2009, 10:59 AM
MMmmm...mushrooms with OxySauce!

--T

barythrin
April 15th, 2009, 12:16 PM
Very cool, I've never seen an A600 side by side with a 500. I didn't know they were so different in size. I'm still missing a few euro models of Amiga in my collection.. though with family it's difficult to pursue the missing links like I used to.

carlsson
April 15th, 2009, 01:40 PM
Hm, are you saying the Amiga 600 never was released in the USA? Apart from the Amiga "2500" which I think was an upgraded 2000 mainly sold in the UK, I didn't follow that some models may not have been available worldwide. Did you get the Amiga 500 Plus, which basically is a 600 in a 500 shell?

billdeg
April 15th, 2009, 05:33 PM
I have a 600, purchased locally at VCF E last year. It does not look like this one, but it has a hard drive, after market.

carlsson
April 15th, 2009, 09:59 PM
Remember snq pulled the keyboard from his Amiga 600, so that may be a reason it looks different.

snq
April 16th, 2009, 04:42 AM
I'm not really an expert on these things, but the sticker says "A600HD" on this one, so it could be the non-HD A600 looks slightly different?
The mainboard looks the same as the non-HD A600, as far as I can tell from pictures I found on the net.

Here's some pics.. I think they look the same, other than the keyboard layout.

What mine looks like with the keyboard in place
http://www.radeonx.com/dump/80108556_1.jpg

And a pic I found on the net.. Note the AZERTY layout :)
http://www.radeonx.com/dump/Commodore_Amiga600_System_s1.jpg

carlsson
April 16th, 2009, 06:27 AM
As far as I know, the HD sticker only means it was pre-assembled with a 2.5" IDE hard drive. They all should have the IDE interface onboard, just that a non-HDD unit would need the cable, cradle, a suitable hard drive and a floppy with the HD Toolbox installation software. If I recall correctly, Commodore only supplied that software with the HDD units.

snq
April 22nd, 2009, 12:07 PM
Finally got around to testing retr0bright, and here's the result :)

Not everyone may be reading the "remove yellowing from plastics" thread so I'll post this pic here as well. One clean A600!
http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/1/vintage_stuff/2009-04-21/img_5872.jpg (http://gallery.volvo240.org/images/vintage_stuff/2009-04-21/img_5872.jpg)

tezza
April 24th, 2009, 01:37 AM
Looks nice, well done!

Tez

Merlin
April 28th, 2009, 12:33 PM
Very nice - well done!!