PDA

View Full Version : How to get Challenger 1P software without havening to type it in?



tezza
April 25th, 2009, 03:55 PM
I've found some missing memory (http://classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2009-04-26-Ohio-Scientific-Challenger-1P-The-Mystery-of-the-Missing-Memory.htm) on my Ohio Scientific Challenger 1P.

Does anyone know of a way of getting software into the Challenger apart from me typing it in? Any cas emulator file --> wav conversion software anyone know of?

tezza
April 26th, 2009, 04:27 AM
The KCS converter utility with this emulator (http://superboard.com.sapo.pt/downloads.html)may be what I'm looking for.

Anyway, I'll give it a go.

Tez

vbriel
April 26th, 2009, 03:24 PM
Maybe the emulator will work but there is also a RS232 port on it too. Mine is just the OSI 600 without the 1P case but they are the same boards. I have hooked up the serial port connector and downloaded programs that way. This site has the info:

http://www.technology.niagarac.on.ca/people/mcsele/OhioScientific.html

With the 300 baud mode, it works just like the cassette where you dump text files thru hyper terminal or your terminal program into the OSI. Works great. Been there, done that so I can confirm this works.

Vince

tezza
April 26th, 2009, 03:31 PM
Hmm...yes, my Challenger 1P has an RS-232 socket, and the docs do have some info on how to use it. Most of the Challenger software I've found on the Internet is in simple ASCII form.

Thanks, I'll explore this option also.

Tez

tezza
May 2nd, 2009, 04:16 AM
Just to wrap this up. I've now found and squestered some software (http://www.classic-computers.org.nz/blog/2009-04-26-Ohio-Scientific-Challenger-1P-some-software.htm) for the beast.

Tez

vbriel
May 9th, 2009, 06:21 AM
Hey Tez,

I think you might have one bad RAM chip still. The number isn't the full 8K. Still, good news. Are you going to post the programs online somehow or a link to them. I'd like to play that space invaders game.

Vince