PDA

View Full Version : Serial connection between CPM / S-100 systems and a PC

QuantumII
May 25th, 2009, 01:11 AM
Hi

I'm wondering if I can use my null-modem cable between S-100 machines and a PC running a terminal emulator ? And, what are the settings I need to adjust my terminal emulator to ?

I'm a complete newb at this stuff, as I have never had my hands on a s-100 machine until now.

per
May 25th, 2009, 01:25 AM
Hi

I'm wondering if I can use my null-modem cable between S-100 machines and a PC running a terminal emulator ? And, what are the settings I need to adjust my terminal emulator to ?

I'm a complete newb at this stuff, as I have never had my hands on a s-100 machine until now.

Yes, that's possible.

It depends on what serial card your S-100 got. If you got a manual for it, you'll find all the settings there.

Basically, what you need to know is:

Word length (7 or 8 bits, most likely 7 in your cause).
Number of Stop bits (1 or 2)
Pairity settings (even, odd or none)
Baud rate (problably not above 300)

QuantumII
May 25th, 2009, 01:49 AM
Heheheh manual.. No, I'm pretty much on my own here. I will have to experiment. Anyway, it's possible to use the null-modem cable, right ?

The S-100 machine in question is a California Computer Systems 2200. I have no disk drives for it (yet) so I plan to take a second trip to the place where I found it and see what I can dig up.

per
May 25th, 2009, 02:24 AM
Heheheh manual.. No, I'm pretty much on my own here. I will have to experiment. Anyway, it's possible to use the null-modem cable, right ?

The S-100 machine in question is a California Computer Systems 2200. I have no disk drives for it (yet) so I plan to take a second trip to the place where I found it and see what I can dig up.

If you got some info about it (product number, manufacter, model, etc), there might be a manual on the internett.

QuantumII
May 25th, 2009, 04:12 AM