PDA

View Full Version : COMMODORE 8296-D on eBay



XDanger
May 27th, 2009, 11:13 AM
220417717204

looks nice.

billdeg
May 28th, 2009, 04:18 AM
local pickup only (UK)

carlsson
May 28th, 2009, 04:58 AM
According to the Parcelforce website, a PET is too big to ship to the USA anyway. Length + girth < 2 meters. Even poorly packaged, a 8296D would be at least 50x50x55 cm = total 2.55 meters. The same limitation applies when I send packages from Sweden to Germany, but most other European destinations are more forgiving. I believe the limitations are due to negotiations to keep the costs down.

Anyway a smaller package 40x40x40 cm (a severly shrunken PET) would end up at about $200 in shipping costs. Of course there are other, even more expensive shipping options which have less restrictions. Possibly the seller could use Parcel2Go which means a courier would come to pick it up at a random time with the span of a few days.

In this case, I have full understanding why one would not bother to try to ship the item. It is rather big, heavy, fragile and for most matters costs a small fortune to ship anyway.

barythrin
May 28th, 2009, 08:10 AM
Right, not sure why or who but "they" have certainly made it a pain for any of us to trade stuff internationally. Of course the difference being say an Altair for $700 and $300 shipping would still be a steal :-)

On another board we (ok no credit on my part, I was just a conversationalist) but T (right?) was involved with shipping a computer to a nice family in Africa and after 3 months it never arrived. Lil' bit of corruption there. "We" ended up sending another system but with a friend of a friend sort of deal via someone in the US Embassy to get around that issue.

Hm. Anyway didn't want to hijack the thread. It's a nice system, yup it's on the other side of the pond but occasionally things are worth the effort to import. Just depends what you're looking for.

sjgray
May 29th, 2009, 04:24 AM
Well, the 8296D will be making its way to me in Canada. I was given a shipping cost of 123 GBP as an estimate, so we'll see what the final cost turns out to be. I'll let everyone know if the machine arrives intact... Considering the final selling price, the final total should be reasonable for such a machine.

Steve

billdeg
May 29th, 2009, 05:53 AM
My 8296 has been assimilated by the borg

http://vintagecomputer.net/commodore/malvern_CBM_8296/thm_malvern_CBM_8296_front.gif

But here is proof of it's origins
http://vintagecomputer.net/commodore/malvern_8296/P1010255.JPG

Now they call it "Malvern of Borg"

sjgray
May 29th, 2009, 06:20 AM
My 8296 has been assimilated by the borg

Now they call it "Malvern of Borg"

They took a machine in one of the coolest computer cases ever, and turned it into a monstrosity... very sad...

Steve

Luzur
May 29th, 2009, 10:53 PM
whatta..? is it a home built case or some sort of rework of a company?

XDanger
June 3rd, 2009, 02:45 PM
Heres another commodore eBay sighting ,Like an unwanted pet left by the roadside :( Take pity on it.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Commodore-64-128-computers-accessories-and-games_W0QQitemZ300319880676QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_V intageComputing_RL?hash=item45ec75b5e4&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A7|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1| 293%3A1|294%3A50

barythrin
June 3rd, 2009, 02:47 PM
btw, congrats Steve. Let us know how it goes. :-)

sjgray
June 3rd, 2009, 05:53 PM
Heres another commodore eBay sighting ,Like an unwanted pet left by the roadside :( Take pity on it.
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Commodore-64-128-computers-accessories-and-games_W0QQitemZ300319880676QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_V intageComputing_RL?hash=item45ec75b5e4&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2|65%3A7|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1| 293%3A1|294%3A50

Yes, pity the stuff wasn't sold separately AND with shipping too... a couple things there I'm interested in. Have asked the seller if he will sell them on their own if nobody bids.

Steve

sjgray
June 3rd, 2009, 05:54 PM
btw, congrats Steve. Let us know how it goes. :-)

Apparently it shipped out today, so hopefully in a week or so i'll have news.

Steve

MikeS
June 3rd, 2009, 08:21 PM
Of course you'll bring it to the TPUG meeting if it gets here in time?

m

cosam
June 4th, 2009, 02:33 AM
Heres another commodore eBay sighting ,Like an unwanted pet left by the roadside
Now, an unwanted PET (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Commodore_PET) would be more interesting ;-)

sjgray
June 4th, 2009, 03:40 AM
Of course you'll bring it to the TPUG meeting if it gets here in time?

m

Sure, I can bring it to the meeting.

Steve

Luzur
June 5th, 2009, 01:44 AM
whatta..? is it a home built case or some sort of rework of a company?

:mad:

sjgray
June 16th, 2009, 12:00 PM
Well, the 8296D arrived today. Looks like the entire unit got twisted in transit as both the monitor housing and main housing were misaligned. Luckily nothing was damaged. The CRT tube is intact. The unit powers up fine, displays the startup screen and accesses the internal drive unit. However, Drive 0 will not read disks. Drive 1 seems to be working fine, so I'm hoping that all it will need is a little cleaning. Otherwise, I'm a happy camper ;-)

I'm running this unit using a 220 to 110 converter, but eventually I'd like to modify the power supply unit to work on 110 directly.

If you want more info just ask.

Steve

PS: Come to the TPUG meeting this thursday to see it live ;-)

carlsson
June 17th, 2009, 05:25 AM
From my personal experience, it could be dangerous to swap working drives with unknown drives. I damaged at least two or three working mechanisms by doing that previously. I think some 653X chip on one of the interface boards sent out signals that would zap drives. Putting the mechanism back into the good working drive didn't bring it back to life. :-( Possibly a skilled technician could restore the broken mechs though.

sjgray
June 17th, 2009, 06:31 AM
I will try cleaning first, and if that doesn't work I'll try the mech on one of my other good drives (SFD1001 perhaps) before attempting to put a new mech into the 8296D.

BTW, anyone have a spare RIOT chip for an 8250LP?

Steve

billdeg
June 17th, 2009, 06:52 AM
Before you do anything, mechanical, see if you can diagnose the problem programatically. Maybe you have tried the following, but if not...

1. Try to format a disk, sometimes that shakes free a drive:
header "nameofdisk",d0,i01 [return]

2. Locate an 8250 or sfd-1001 diagnostic disk. I would think someone at TPUG would have one...? You want to be sure the drive is spinning with the correct RPM's, and you can adjust the RPM with a screwdriver (itty bitty turn clockwise = faster, itty bitty turn counterclockwise = slower RPM). The diagnostic disk may shed light on the exact problem you're having. You would load from drive 1 of course.

3. The command: ?ds$ will tell you if the processor board of the disk drive is OK or not. The response you want will be something like: "73, cbm dos v. 2.x"

Bill

channelmaniac
June 17th, 2009, 07:07 AM
I will try cleaning first, and if that doesn't work I'll try the mech on one of my other good drives (SFD1001 perhaps) before attempting to put a new mech into the 8296D.

BTW, anyone have a spare RIOT chip for an 8250LP?

Steve

6532? You can find one of those as close as your nearest scrap Atari 2600. ;)

That's where I get the ones that are listed on my website.

carlsson
June 17th, 2009, 07:22 AM
Are all 6532's created equally, i.e. they are not programmed parts? Frankly I can't recall if I have dumped most of my broken stuff but then again any 6532's I could find would be of uncertain state and I'd be wary to swap with a known good one as I fear those may mess things up. Hopefully I'm off track on this matter though.

sjgray
June 17th, 2009, 08:31 AM
Before you do anything, mechanical, see if you can diagnose the problem programatically. Maybe you have tried the following, but if not...

1. Try to format a disk, sometimes that shakes free a drive:
header "nameofdisk",d0,i01 [return]

2. Locate an 8250 or sfd-1001 diagnostic disk. I would think someone at TPUG would have one...? You want to be sure the drive is spinning with the correct RPM's, and you can adjust the RPM with a screwdriver (itty bitty turn clockwise = faster, itty bitty turn counterclockwise = slower RPM). The diagnostic disk may shed light on the exact problem you're having. You would load from drive 1 of course.

3. The command: ?ds$ will tell you if the processor board of the disk drive is OK or not. The response you want will be something like: "73, cbm dos v. 2.x"

Bill

Drive board works fine with drive one. I'm assuming the digital controller board is fine. The analog is probably okay as well unless there is a fault only with drive 0 section.

I took the entire assembly out to see what is going on...

Trying to read a disk in D0 gives "74, drive not ready". The disk spins and head moves. Header command gives "bad disk". Then DS$ shows "75, format speed error". So you looks like you are right. Perhaps lubricating the drive will fix things. Otherwise, do you know EXACTLY where the speed adjustment is?

Steve

sjgray
June 17th, 2009, 08:50 AM
6532? You can find one of those as close as your nearest scrap Atari 2600. ;)

That's where I get the ones that are listed on my website.

The 8250LP has a 6530 chip on an adapter board with an additional ROM to override the original ROM contents inside whatever 6530 chip Commodore chose to put on it. My understanding is the 6532 RIOT (Atari part# CO10750) is not a DIRECT replacement for the 6530 on that adapter. You would need an adapter to convert the 6532 to a 6530. so you would end up having an adapter ontop of another adapter. I know of no current adapter board for the 6532...

I do have a scrap Atari 2600 with CO10750 chip...

Steve