PDA

View Full Version : Can you identify the fault with this c64



XDanger
June 6th, 2009, 09:37 AM
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Atari-Commodore-64-Console_W0QQitemZ150348917644QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK _VintageComputing_RL?hash=item23017e6b8c&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=65%3A7|66%3A2|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1| 293%3A1|294%3A50

as you can see the output is garbage

I recently saw a sinclair commodore 64 on eBay also, I think its keyword spamming or something

carlsson
June 6th, 2009, 01:08 PM
Hard to tell from the picture, but the first thing I would try is to insert a game cartridge. If that works, I would have a look at the Basic ROM.

Regarding Sinclair C64, I tend to remember some homebrew hack where a person had reused a C64 case, painted it black with rainbow stripes and inserted a ZX Sinclair motherboard. I might misremember parts of the setup, but it was only some years ago. Given the number of 3rd party keyboard available for the Spectrum, I would suppose people already back in the days tried hacks like this if you had a broken VIC or C64 to gut.

Bungo Pony
June 9th, 2009, 06:24 PM
Either it's a bad connection to the TV, or the C64 threw up random characters / pixels on the screen. Difficult to tell.

channelmaniac
June 9th, 2009, 09:47 PM
Looks like bad DRAM, VIC-II, or PLA chip.