PDA

View Full Version : VAX 11/750 Hard Drive Options



marmotking
June 26th, 2009, 10:42 AM
I have a VAX 11/750 and some parts that I recently obtained and would like to restore it. This is the computer I originally learned to program on as a child (yes, I was in 7th grade and had the power of a VAX to play with) so I have great sentimental value attached to it!

In the parts, I have a set of cards M7485 and M7486 which is apparently a UDA50 board set. Can I use this with an RA72 drive (heck, I'm not sure I even know what UDA50 stands for)? I have lots of DSSI drives too, for my 4000 series machines, but I take it that I can't use them on the 11/750. I've had one of the RA72 drives sitting around for years and don't know if it even works. I also have no cabling for any of this. Is the RA72 referred to as a SDI drive? I think it's 1GB. Is that too big for a 750?

Any information would be very much appreciated as I begin to plan my restoration of this machine.

marmotking

pontus
June 27th, 2009, 01:04 PM
I have a VAX 11/750 and some parts that I recently obtained and would like to restore it. This is the computer I originally learned to program on as a child (yes, I was in 7th grade and had the power of a VAX to play with) so I have great sentimental value attached to it!

In the parts, I have a set of cards M7485 and M7486 which is apparently a UDA50 board set. Can I use this with an RA72 drive (heck, I'm not sure I even know what UDA50 stands for)? I have lots of DSSI drives too, for my 4000 series machines, but I take it that I can't use them on the 11/750. I've had one of the RA72 drives sitting around for years and don't know if it even works. I also have no cabling for any of this. Is the RA72 referred to as a SDI drive? I think it's 1GB. Is that too big for a 750?

Any information would be very much appreciated as I begin to plan my restoration of this machine.

marmotking

I'm too getting an 11/750 soon and posed (almost) the same question to the classic computing mailing list. The answer is that you should be able to use the RA72 or any other SDI drive (such as the much, physically larger, RA90, RA82) with the UDA50.

marmotking
December 22nd, 2013, 09:41 PM
Pontus, did you ever try this out? I have not yet, but it's moving up my list.

pontus
December 28th, 2013, 02:00 PM
No, it's fairly low on my list. I got the 11/750 now, but it needs a lot of work.