PDA

View Full Version : How to use VT-102 with modern computer?

Vercus
July 17th, 2009, 07:37 AM
Hello,
I have been itchy to use my VT-102 terminal to play old text games (Adventure, Zork, etc). It is going to take a while to assemble my mini-computer system, so I thought in the meantime, perhaps I could use it with more modern computers?
I have two systems working at the moment- a Dell Poweredge server running XP Pro, and a whitebox running Win 98. For whatever reason, the serial port on the Dell is not supported under windows xp, so it is not usable. In fact, connecting anything to it prevents the computer from passing POST.

The Win 98 system works perfectly though. Could I use it with some kind of emulator program to run the terminal? I'm assuming I would connect it to the serial port. What software would I need to make it go? I'm hoping to emulate a PDP/11 and perhaps a disk drive or two to play Adventure on it, and Zork, if possible.

I am new to this, so you'll have to explain it to me like a novice...lol.
Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
Jon

tradde
July 17th, 2009, 10:20 AM
Hello,
I have been itchy to use my VT-102 terminal to play old text games (Adventure, Zork, etc). It is going to take a while to assemble my mini-computer system, so I thought in the meantime, perhaps I could use it with more modern computers?
I have two systems working at the moment- a Dell Poweredge server running XP Pro, and a whitebox running Win 98. For whatever reason, the serial port on the Dell is not supported under windows xp, so it is not usable. In fact, connecting anything to it prevents the computer from passing POST.

The Win 98 system works perfectly though. Could I use it with some kind of emulator program to run the terminal? I'm assuming I would connect it to the serial port. What software would I need to make it go? I'm hoping to emulate a PDP/11 and perhaps a disk drive or two to play Adventure on it, and Zork, if possible.