PDA

View Full Version : C64C and VDE



ziloo
July 17th, 2009, 09:58 AM
Hello folks,

I got my hands on a c64c, and there is a label inside the small opening
where the L-H is locatd, and the label inside says VDE. Now...what
sort of signal is coming out of RF, and how can I get it on to a TV set?

Thank you

ziloo

carlsson
July 17th, 2009, 11:29 AM
Well, it is a 75 ohm antenna signal? I believe in the USA it is either VHF channel 3 (60 MHz) or 4 (66 MHz). If it would be an European C64, it would output its antenna signal around UHF channel 36 (602 MHz). Data collected from this Wikipedia page:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/North_American_broadcast_television_frequencies

However, if your TV has at least composite video input - possibly even S-Video - you can make or build your own video cable which will give a much better image and you don't have to bother with tuning the TV.

http://sta.c64.org/cbmmonc.html
http://sta.c64.org/cbmsvideoc.html

ziloo
July 18th, 2009, 09:53 PM
Thank you carlsson :)...great piece of information!

ziloo