PDA

View Full Version : vic 20 trouble



OTAlucard
July 20th, 2009, 10:27 AM
well somebody gave me a vic 20 in the box with 4 games i plugged it in to my commodore monitor the light came on


no video just a little flicker then it went back to black
do any of you know what could be wrong with the vic 20 ?
and if you do please help me

Unknown_K
July 20th, 2009, 12:28 PM
Are you using the TV out or do you have a monitor cable?

OTAlucard
July 20th, 2009, 04:56 PM
Are you using the TV out or do you have a monitor cable?

i m useing the 6 pin cable to audio video i could use the monitor cable to but i didn't try that yet

OTAlucard
August 5th, 2009, 03:58 PM
i turned up the volume on the monitor and there is this medium pitched MMMMMMMMMM when the commodore vic is turned on

Unknown_K
August 5th, 2009, 10:03 PM
Did you get the leads mixed up to the monitor? For example my 1802 monitor has a set of inputs just for composite, and a set of inputs for chromo and luma at a different height (but they plugs use the same colors codes), you might have mixed up where the plugs went.

http://www.ntrautanen.fi/computers/hardware/misc/vic_video.htm

Shows the vic20 output and how it is different from the C64 (5 wire not 6 and it has a 6v line that could hum if connected to the wrong port on the monitor).