PDA

View Full Version : Monitor for Amiga 500?



SuperJules84
July 31st, 2009, 05:44 AM
Hello all, this is my first post and I'm not exactly a digital native, so please be gentle!

I'm about to move house and will finally have the space to accommodate my beloved Amiga 500. However, the monitor is obviously enormous by modern standards! Will the machine work with a different monitor or do I have to use the original? If it will work with a different monitor, is there a particular type I should get?

Cheers

Jules

Unknown_K
July 31st, 2009, 06:19 AM
13" is huge? (well maybe compared to a LCD in the depth department). The problem you will have finding a replacement is that it had to sync to 15khz when just about all modern monitors do 30khz. You can get devices that will scandouble/flickerfix so you can use a newer LCD but they are expensive.

Amiga monitors are getting rare in working conditions I suggest you keep it and use it.

barythrin
July 31st, 2009, 07:55 AM
Similarly to unknown's comment the Amiga monitor if it works is really worth keeping around. If anything hook up a gaming system to it since it accepts direct RCA connections and check out the difference vs a TV.

There are a few multisync monitors that can work with that lower Hz (NEC has (or had) one). Still if you have the choice and monitor already it's worth hanging on to.

carlsson
July 31st, 2009, 12:14 PM
I was thinking about the possibility to get a HDMI compatible signal from the Amiga. It seems not so easy. You could get a RGB to component transcoder and probably plug in the Amiga into a modern TV (not computer monitor).

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31364

If you were living in Europe, you could use a RGB SCART cable but I realize SCART input is getting obsolete as well.

ziloo
September 3rd, 2009, 05:30 AM
Hello folks,

Very recently I got an Amiga 500, and it looks pretty good.
It was made in Germany, so it is a European style. Now,
I don't have an RGB monitor or an A520 modulator to
connecto it to a TV set. What should I do, to get something
viewable out of it?

Thank you

ziloo

per
September 3rd, 2009, 05:54 AM
Hello folks,

Very recently I got an Amiga 500, and it looks pretty good.
It was made in Germany, so it is a European style. Now,
I don't have an RGB monitor or an A520 modulator to
connecto it to a TV set. What should I do, to get something
viewable out of it?

Thank you

ziloo

You may be able to work out something from the pinout provided here:
http://www.cdtv.org.uk/1295.html#rgbvideo

Or just do like this (if you live in Europe):
http://pspemulation2.condor.serverpro3.com/screenshots/amiga-scar-cable-fix.jpg

carlsson
September 3rd, 2009, 05:56 AM
The Amiga 500 happens to have a monochrome RCA video output next to the RGB connector. If you want colour though, you will need to obtain some interface or adapter.

per
September 3rd, 2009, 06:11 AM
If you want colour though, you will need to obtain some interface or adapter.

See my post above (second link, still assuming you live in Europe).

carlsson
September 3rd, 2009, 10:06 AM
Yep. However I have a strong feeling that "the basement" is somewhere in North America. :)

ziloo
September 3rd, 2009, 12:08 PM
Yep. However I have a strong feeling that "the basement" is somewhere in North America. :)


:rofl: :happy7:

Actually I have lived on both sides of the ocean, but presently I am on
the old continent...

Thank you all fo your prompt responses!

ziloo :biggrin:

tezza
September 3rd, 2009, 12:57 PM
I have an Amiga 500 but no Amiga RGB monitor. I just use that plug-in RF/Composite video adapter when necessary or just use the mono composite output. Incidently. the latter gives for a very sharp image on a green screen.

I DO have an Amiga monitor cable. I've noticed the plug on the end looks like it might fit the plug from my IBM RGB monitor. I'm going from memory here, I actually haven't tried to fit it (and the machine's in it's box in the garage and I'm still in bed having a morning coffee so I'm not going to try it right now), but it LOOKS like it's physically compatible. Anyone know if it actually is compatible as far as the electronics go? I don't want to blow up my Amiga or my IBM 5153 Monitor.

Actually I also have an Apple IIGS RGB monitor here doing nothing. I see the input is not physically compatible with the Amiga cable though.

Tez

per
September 3rd, 2009, 01:11 PM
I DO have an Amiga monitor cable. I've noticed the plug on the end looks like it might fit the plug from my IBM RGB monitor. I'm going from memory here, I actually haven't tried to fit it (and the machine's in it's box in the garage and I'm still in bed having a morning coffee so I'm not going to try it right now), but it LOOKS like it's physically compatible. Anyone know if it actually is compatible as far as the electronics go? I don't want to blow up my Amiga or my IBM 5153 Monitor.
Well, the sync. frequencies are about the same, BUT, the CGA monitor only recognizes two different states of the signal, limiting the color selection to 8 (Intensity not included). The Amiga surely could produce more than 8 colors.

carlsson
September 3rd, 2009, 03:49 PM
Yes, the Amiga's RGB signal is analogue (0-1V) while your 5153 will expect a TTL digital signal 0 or 5V, give or take some volts.

Tupin
September 16th, 2009, 06:47 PM
I might actually get a 500 soon, and I was wondering if there's a direct RGB to VGA adapter that I can buy online.

billdeg
September 17th, 2009, 04:59 PM
Yes there is a VGA adapter, they're pretty easy to find, but the picture is not that good I have found. I suggest you only use the vga adapter in a pinch. You may end up with a black and white flittering display.

Here is what I use - a Magnavox Professional Series Color Display. I have seen these for sale recently
http://vintagecomputer.net/Magnavox/colordisplay/thm_magnvox_colordisplay.JPG

Also, the Commodore 1950 is a fine monitor if you can find one. I have a few bad pics here:
http://vintagecomputer.net/commodore/

francamb
October 27th, 2009, 02:20 PM
Where can i find to buy a magnavox professional series 1992 model with or without the connecting cable. Any help with information will be highly a appreciated. Thanks

Archangel_UK
July 8th, 2011, 12:21 PM
I have an Amiga500+ with a "huge" 4 Mb hard drive but no monitor , would like to get it running again but my Philips monitor is deceased , anybody know what I could use instead , might still have the RGB adapter but would modern TV be suitable ?? I`m not technical so please keep answers fairly simple please , thanks in advance

Chuck(G)
July 8th, 2011, 12:31 PM
That Sony 1302 that Frank was giving away for shipping would also work just fine, as it can accept RGB analog.

Chromedome45
July 8th, 2011, 12:47 PM
Just take into account this Sony 1302 monitor does not work in it's current state. Has a bad Low Voltage distribution Power Supply.

mikerm
July 8th, 2011, 05:29 PM
This is on my shopping list: http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=82&products_id=918

$118 seems like a lot, until you see that the last flicker fixer/scandoubler sold on ebay for $150.

This one is going to go in my A2000HD.

carlsson
July 9th, 2011, 05:24 AM
Archangel lives in the UK which is a big benefit in this case. It means he can buy or perhaps build a SCART cable to connect to any semi-obsolete TV set that has a SCART connector which accepts RGB input. Most do, but not all of them. The very latest TV sets are also getting rid of SCART which means this is a solution that works for now but not 10 years into the future.

Of course he can get a dedicated computer monitor too, something like a Commodore 1084 which are quite common but perhaps more difficult to find than a cable to a TV. The 1084 however will probably generate a better, sharper picture than any TV will do.

To order a monitor from USA with shipping to the UK would be a waste of money in this case, in particular as the options are rather plentiful. If it was a different kind of monitor with very special sync frequencies not replicated by any multisync monitor, it might make sense.

Mau1wurf1977
July 10th, 2011, 03:16 PM
As has been mentioned, Europe is a good source of TVs with SCART socket. UK, Germany or Austria all fit the bill.

I had a Sony Trinitron when I was over at the UK many moon ago. It had SCART, but the main reason I got it was because of a hidden service menu I could access by pressing certain remote keys.

It allowed me to position the image (size and position) just like on a monitor. I loved this TV. It was RGB bliss for all consoles and the Amiga...

Apart from TVs, European DVD and HDD recorders also often come with SCART. This might double up as a cheap converter / scaler.