PDA

View Full Version : DTK 386 mobo won't recognize RAM



jlrka
September 20th, 2009, 01:41 PM
HI'
I was given a bunch of 30 pin simm sticks.
Some w/ 9chips & some w/ 3 chips.
All sticks tried are matched sets.
When I put 4 in bank 0 in my DTK PEM-3301, regardless of what they are, BIOS says they are a total of 256K. If I put 4 more in bank 1 it reads the total as 1280k.
Many of the sticks are not labelled, but I know the KO-13n is 1mb. The manual says it will take 8mb.
If I insert the 4 1mb sticks in bank 0, set dip3 of switch1 to off and put jumpers W2&W3 t the 1-2 position, I get a parity error message, which is understandable, I guess, but still reads 256K.
Manually setting extended memory in Bios has no effect. After saving changes, when it comes back on it still says 256k and won't boot to DOS.

Put the original 8 sticks(I have no idea what they actually are) back in and it says: Base mem. 640 - Ext. mem. 1280
Shadow mem. 128
Then boots OK.
How do I get this thing to tell what the RAM actually is?
Only the gold plated ones give parity errors.
Thanx

When the gods want to punish you they answer your prayers

Anonymous Coward
September 20th, 2009, 04:38 PM
It sounds like the original SIMMs are of the 256k variety.

I bet that DTK is fairly picky about memory. It might not work with anything other than 9 chip 256k or 1MB SIMMs.

offensive_Jerk
September 20th, 2009, 05:34 PM
*nevermind, stupid question.

jlrka
September 21st, 2009, 05:59 AM
Even if it will only take 256 or 1mb, why does it give a total of 1280 for 8 sticks? Never heard of a 160K ram.

southbird
September 21st, 2009, 07:38 AM
Even if it will only take 256 or 1mb, why does it give a total of 1280 for 8 sticks? Never heard of a 160K ram.

Actually what I find interesting about "1280" is that it's 640 twice...

MaTel
September 21st, 2009, 08:41 AM
If I insert the 4 1mb sticks in bank 0, set dip3 of switch1 to off and put jumpers W2&W3 t the 1-2 position, I get a parity error message, which is understandable, I guess, but still reads 256K.


If I read the manual in Total Hardware 99 correctly you have to switch dip3 AND dip5 to off when you using 4 1MB sticks.

Anonymous Coward
September 21st, 2009, 09:22 AM
It reads 1280k extended memory, because 2MB total RAM - 640kb conventional - 128kb shadow ram = 1280k leftover for extended memory.

jlrka
September 22nd, 2009, 05:23 AM
You were both right.
I didn't think I had to change dip 5 if bank 1 was not being used.
Going back over the manual, like you said it must be changed.
And the subtraction of base and shadow is correct.
With 4 sticks and proper settings:
640
3328
128
with 8 sticks:
640
7424
128
Unfortunately I can't use them 'cause the slots are silver.
But I know they are good. I'll sell them on Ebay and buy a TRS80.

On to the next problem - smartmodem300(new thread_
Thanks again!

Anonymous Coward
September 22nd, 2009, 05:52 AM
I've mixed gold SIMMs with silver contacts for years and never had a problem with corrosion. How many times can you honestly say you've seen boards with gold contacts?

jlrka
September 22nd, 2009, 06:39 AM
never had to try it.
Just gunshy. As a ancient mariner I've seen what happens when unlike metals are in contact. Then again, I don't plan on using this at the bottom of Cape Cod Bay.

And don't have to. After playing around I found 8 1mb sticks w/ silver leads.


Thanks