PDA

View Full Version : How to reinstall a licensed OpenVMS box ?

leaknoil
October 12th, 2009, 07:52 PM
I have a 3100/40 with 6.2 installed but, one of the drives is whining so bad I want to kill myself when near it. I would like to put a single modern and quiet drive in it and reinstall OpenVMS. I am licensed for what I think is 20 users. Do I have that right ? Why does it say 0 or F avail ?

Anyway, so I want to retire these drives for one that doesn't make my ears bleed. This came with a original 6.2 OpenVMS cd set but, none of the PAKS. What is the best way to do this ? I am a total vms noob. What little I ever knew I have forgotten. Remembering dir was enough of a struggle. My ears will be grateful for any help.

------- Product ID -------- ---- Rating ----- -- Version --
Product Producer Units Avail Activ Version Release Termination
BASE-VMS-250136 DEC 18 0 A 0.0 (none) (none)
BASIC DEC 200 F 0 0.0 (none) (none)
NET-APP-SUP-200 DEC 200 F 0 0.0 (none) (none)
OPENVMS-ALPHA-ADL DEC 1600 0 100 0.0 (none) (none)
VMS-USER DEC 2000 0 100 0.0 (none) (none)

This is a MicroVAX 3100-30/40, hardware model type 209
Type: A, Units Required: 18 (VAX/VMS Capacity or OpenVMS Unlimited or Base)
Type: B, * Not Permitted * (VAX/VMS F&A Server)
Type: C, Units Required: 100 (VAX/VMS Concurrent User)
Type: D, * Not Permitted * (VAX/VMS Workstation)
Type: E, Units Required: 230 (VAX/VMS System Integrated Products)
Type: F, Units Required: 20 (VAX Layered Products)
Type: G, * Not Permitted * (Reserved)
Type: H, * Not Permitted * (Alpha Layered Products)
Type: I, Units Required: 20 (Layered Products)

pontus
October 13th, 2009, 12:12 AM
It probably has a SCSI drive right? Can't you make an image in a modern system and put that on a new drive?

leaknoil
October 13th, 2009, 08:27 AM