PDA

View Full Version : How to boot an unbootable Appe ][ europlus



Thomas Hillebrandt
June 28th, 2003, 01:31 PM
I really hope some of you out there has some good ideas for me.

In my collection, I have only one Apple ][-series computer; a glorious Apple ][ europlus, with two Disk ][ drives, and the controller for them.
Sadly, I didn't get any software along with the machine, but for one disk, containing some BASIC programs.

For a while the disk worked, but a few days ago, the machine stopped booting. I fear the disk suffered from bitrot. Now, Apple ][ europlus apparently won't boot without a DOS-disk in the drive. I can press "Control"+"Return" of course, and get to BASIC, but then I don't have access to the diskdrives.

The Apple ][ series apparently never sold very well in Denmark, where I live, so there aren't many around today. In fact, I don't personally know any over here who has one, other than myself.

So all this babbling leads to my question at hand:

Is there a way to boot the machine and STILL have disk-access, so that I can format a new disk and go on using the machine? Or can I only do this, if I get a copy of AppleDOS on disk???

And, if the AppleDOS copy is the only option - can anyone supply? :shock:

gateman
July 1st, 2003, 06:09 PM
Thomas,

Without a hard drive & controller, the II series must have a boot floppy, and your BASIC disk may have been bootable but got corrupted.

I often sell Apple drives (excess inventory) on eBay, and also boot disks. I'd be happy to sell one for $5 (just to cover my time of making copies) plus shipping. I can get you a ProDOS or a DOS 3.3 -- OR both.

================================================== =================
Ed Kearn
1631 SW MacVicar
Topeka, KS 66604 (785) 232-3331

http://www.gateman.com/
http://www.gateman.com/friends/ The Topeka Friendship Network
http://www.gateman.com/grabbag.html (free stuff)
http://www.gateman.com/museum/ The Topeka Computing Museum
================================================== =================

jeffhos
July 29th, 2003, 01:21 PM
If you can set up a serial connection between a PC and the Apple, you can transfer DOS to it that way. Check out:

http://www.apple2.org.za/gswv/a2zine/Sel/dos33dmp.htm

Hope this helps,
-- Jeff

Thomas Hillebrandt
July 30th, 2003, 12:43 AM
Hey...Thanks for the advice!

I don't have a serial card for the Apple, so I'm pretty much at a loss there. Fortunately (and I really should have posted a follow-up - sorry!) recently I just tried firing up the beast again, and much to my surprise it booted. Well, you should see me getting on the WWW figuring out how to format a disk (which was too easy to believe) and then formatting and entire box of disks, just to be on the safe side... :roll: ...So unless my drives start dying on me, I should be set for a while... :lol:

Thanks anyway, y'all...