PDA

View Full Version : How much should I pay?

YuZi92
November 1st, 2009, 06:19 PM
I'm new to the whole vintage computer scene and I'm not sure what to offer for each computer. Could I get some advice?

http://philadelphia.craigslist.org/sys/1441890782.html

Unknown_K
November 1st, 2009, 08:27 PM
Are you local to the seller?
None of those are worth that much $10 a piece I guess, and are pretty useless without either carts or disk drives with software PLUS power supplies for the units themselves.

The Tandy is boxed thats a plus if you like original boxes. Don't see how you can say the others are in original bags, they are just bags big deal.

If you ask on freecycle you tend to get flooded with C64/Vic 20 machines and maybe floppy drives and software if you are lucky.

barythrin
November 2nd, 2009, 09:26 AM
Kinda depends how much you want for it. A lot of folks use completed auctions on ebay to gauge what the going rate is however this is usually high.

If you're really interested in the systems the it's kinda your descretion on what you think they're worth. I've paid higher prices before myself after getting tired of seeking some slightly oddball systems for years however these as previously said aren't rare.

Some folks think they're gold mines and want that rare pricetag or value but don't let them fool ya. The system is worth maybe $30 with the box and everything inside the box, the additional components are around $15 probably. I would offer $60 for all of it if it's stuff you want, or wait and you'll find the single items you want out of the lot for less.

- John

Bobthearch
November 2nd, 2009, 11:04 AM
Those are rather common models and generally sell cheap on eBay. But considering the condition, I'd say they're worth more than the average eBay fodder, plus if you live in the area and can pick them up you'll save on shipping.