PDA

View Full Version : Big Blue Reader (C-64 Version)

burgerbob
December 4th, 2009, 07:13 PM
Hello all.
I am a newbie. My name is Bob from WA state (Kent to be exact).

The other day, I came across a whole cabinet of old floppies that have lots of Commodore 64 images and documents.

G.E.O.S (both images and docs)
PrintShop
Postcard Creator
HorseFeather

Would so love to convert these to Windows.

So, my question is this...
Does anyone have information on where to get Big Blue Reader
for my C-64?

Thanks in advance for the info.

tone007
December 5th, 2009, 03:39 AM
I've got a brand new copy right here!

..but it's commercial software, I don't think it's been widely distributed.

There's a clone called Little Red Reader that did the same thing and was free, maybe that one would show up in a search.

carlsson
December 5th, 2009, 05:57 AM
Honestly I think it is much easier and cheaper to get an X-series cable (XE1541, XM1541, XA1541 etc), if your PC has a parallel port. Since you imply your PC has a 5.25" floppy drive, it should have a fairly decent parallel port as well.

The Big Blue and Little Red readers will read and write to a MFM formatted floppy disk. I think you even need internal modifications on your 1541 to use it, while a 1571 would work out of the box.

burgerbob
December 21st, 2009, 09:17 PM
:confused:

I would like to know if there is a way to possibly get a copy of either Big Blue Reader or the Little version.

If possible, could you please give me more information on the X-series cable (XE1541, XM1541, XA1541 etc). On the parrell port, are you talking about where the 6 pin cables go to on the back of the 1541 disk drive?