PDA

View Full Version : 1764 PSU Requirement



Raven
December 16th, 2009, 09:56 AM
I got a 1764 from GAL that just came in today, beautiful device, very good condition, etc. - came with manual (the important one, lacking GEOS one) and the disk even. Anywho I start flipping through the manual and notice that it talks about a PSU. I read further in the manual and then online, my hopes dashed because apparently I need a higher amperage PSU than the original C64 one.. :(

Is this true? Is there a way around this? I found the correct PSU on eBay but it's like $40 when all is said and done and that's out of my affordability range ATM.. :(

Is there a cheap alternative?

carlsson
December 16th, 2009, 10:01 AM
Possibly you could adopt a C128 PSU: change the connector simply. I don't know exactly how much juice the C128 one produces but it doesn't hurt to check. If you try to use the REU with the original power supply, you risk of frying it all but I'm sure you already figured it out.

There are heavy-duty power supplies for the C64 but they cost a bit. Usually you can use the 5VDC from e.g. an old PC PSU but you need a way to get the 9VAC, often in form of a separate transformer. I don't know which of these two voltages it is you need to increase.

Aha, you need 9VAC 1A and 5VDC 2.5A. That is exactly the same specs as the C128 has, but it uses a square connector so you would need to hack it a bit if you can come across the PSU at all.

Raven
December 16th, 2009, 10:04 AM
I don't have a C128 or PSU for one so that's out of the question - if I'm hunting down a PSU that's gonna cost me a penny I might as well get a proper one..

I posted a Wanted thread on the PSU I would like to get, and also sent a PM out to GAL asking him about how he ran the REU in the picture and if he has the PSU and didn't know it went to it..

Edit: You edited your post as I posted mine - so here's my response: If I can find a C128 PSU for far cheaper than the 1764 one on eBay I'll consider that option.

Edit 2: Yay GAL has the PSU. I'll have to pay more shipping, 'cuz it's heavy, but it will be cheaper than buying one on eBay or finding a C128 one by far, and it'll be authentic, so I'm happy.

Thanks for the info though, Anders, it's useful to know that a C128 one can be hacked to work on a C64 for these purposes.

Also, this means I'll have two PSUs - I have a C64 with "all the trimmings" and a C64C with nothing that I just attained a 1541-II for, and now I'll have a spare PSU for it too! This is good.

Micom 2000
December 16th, 2009, 12:49 PM
Was the 1764 PSU the white one ? I could find no model #s on any of my C-64 PSUs. ISTR in the darkest regions of my memory something about a more powerful PSU for the C64 . which was the white one I assumed or informed. One of my white PSUs has the round 4-pin connector as original. The other has an obvious splice of cable with the same C-64 plug. And of course the C128 PSUs were white but with the square connector.

I've generally used the unspliced one with my C-64s or a black one, but in googling the 1764 there was mention that a certain resister should be removed before using a C-128 PSU with a C-64. Is there any danger that the spliced one could fry my C-64s ?

Lawrence

Raven
December 16th, 2009, 03:59 PM
I bet the obvious-splice-of-cable one was a C128 turned C64.. As for the other, then yes. It looks like this (on the bottom):

http://i.ebayimg.com/10/!B(zHtR!!Wk~$(KGrHgoOKj!EjlLmZDmvBKeI+r6KJ!~~_12.J PG