PDA

View Full Version : DOS Console and Games @ VGA Resolution?



Raven
December 25th, 2009, 09:51 AM
I just got a new converter for x-mas that does VGA + Audio -> HDMI or Component. It works great, but apparently doesn't support 320x240 (or whatever DOS runs at by default if not that). I assumed that since it supported VGA just fine it could do this. It does, but as soon as the box realizes that it's not at least 640x480 it turns the picture back to blue (waiting for a signal). My first thought was to run games in a window in Win3x, but most games want to go fullscreen for that, and then you have the same problem. Is there a way to force apps to run in 640x480 scaled down to the center, or stretched?

Is there an app to set the DOS console to 640x480 res?

drichardson
December 26th, 2009, 11:08 AM
I think dosbox has a configuration option for that very thing. Of course, you wouldn't want to run it on older hardware. :(

Raven
December 27th, 2009, 07:57 AM
My solution idea is to use a bit more powerful hardware, and run 95/98, which can run DOS games fine in windowed mode. Unfortunately my T6600C can't handle this too well (I did try it), but maybe when I've upgraded the CPU and RAM it might do better.

Still looking for alternatives.

Marrr
December 27th, 2009, 10:24 AM
Yes, you can switch DOS console to 480-scan-line mode, eg. with this program: http://software.filestube.com/software,fbfd4e80,Z-COM.html
The command is:

z \30

It will set 80x30 text mode, where you can run DOS console, and even some shells like Norton Commander or Volkov Commander, but NOT games - they will set their own modes.