PDA

View Full Version : External CD-ROM and HP Apollo 715/100

Cube Over
January 21st, 2010, 07:14 AM
Hello Dear Retromaniacs,
this is my post here and I want to be part of your community.
I have started with Apple ][ clone back in 1987 and now I am still using Apple G4 Cube at home.
I am an OSS Architect and so do hardware/software high-level design for living.
That's why I am also very interested of what was done and how it was and who was the persona etc...

I have small collection of old and rare machines:
- SGI Indy with IRIX 6.5
- HP Visualize C180 with HP-UX 10.20
- HP 715/100, 715/80 (HPUX 10-20 but Next Step is 3.3)
- Fujutsu-Siemens with QNX 6.4
- HP Vectra VL with BeOS 4.5
- Apple G4 Cube with MacOS 10.5

I am trying to install NextStep into 715/100 and here's a problem - the machine does not seem to "see" the external SCSI drive.
I have it in a box with all proper connections, and there is external terminator on the box (it does light up!) so there is some issue...
I boot into BCH and issues "search" command as BOOT_ADMIN>
I see two internal hard drives (scsi.6.0, scsi.5.0) and an internal tape drive (scsi.3.0)
The ext. box and drive I am using are known-good because I used those to setup my Indy.
The box has SCSI ID switch so I experimented with the ID as follows:

set to 4 and machine sees only two HD drives (no tape is seen, although tape and extCD have non-conflicting IDs 3 and 4 !)
set to 3 and also I do not see extCD nor tape
set to 2 or 1 or 0 - only three internal devices are seen, when "sea"rching for boot devices, the external CD drive DOES SPIN, although NOT SEEN even as "possible DEVICE"
set to 5, only on scsi.6.0 hard drive is seen (it is the hpux boot drive)
set to 6, nothing is seen
set to 7 (this is the scsi initiator id) nothing is seen