PDA

View Full Version : What kind of card is this?



ffvs
March 10th, 2010, 07:15 AM
Hello

I have to replace this card, it is connected from a pc to an industrial plc

It has 2 db9 female ports and just one is used.

Do you know what kind of card is this? And where to buy one?

http://img248.imagevenue.com/loc4/th_16594_isafront_122_4lo.jpg (http://img248.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=16594_isafront_122_4lo.jpg)
http://img127.imagevenue.com/loc558/th_16877_isaback_122_558lo.jpg (http://img127.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=16877_isaback_122_558lo.jpg)
http://img243.imagevenue.com/loc142/th_16701_diagram_122_142lo.jpg (http://img243.imagevenue.com/img.php?image=16701_diagram_122_142lo.jpg)

Thank you

nige the hippy
March 10th, 2010, 07:44 AM
Dual serial current loop interface, but where to buy one ??????
You're more likely to find a project or possibly a ready built RS232 to current loop converter.

ffvs
March 10th, 2010, 07:48 AM
Thank you for fast reply.

I know to buy a new one is something impossible. But, do you think is possible to find a used one??
Or a way to make an adaption?

Thank you

Chuck(G)
March 10th, 2010, 08:38 AM
If you can find a standard ISA dual serial card (which shouldn't be too hard), you can use a current-loop converter to get where you need to be. Some examples:

http://www.bb-elec.com/product_family.asp?FamilyId=20
http://www.telebyteusa.com/catalog/products/65a.htm
http://www.westermo.com/Resource.phx/content/products/current-loop-20-ma/current-loop-20-ma.htx

There are about a jillion vendors of these things out there. Just search for "current loop converter". You can even build your own. Ultimately, this may be the most flexible solution.

Out of curiosity, have you tried replacing the socketed optoisolators on the board?

ffvs
March 10th, 2010, 09:26 AM
The card in the picture is working fine. In a second machine that card was stolen.

What I tried without luck was this:

I bought this card : http://cgi.ebay.ca/Keithley-Metrabyte-COM-422-PC7652-14163-Rev-C1-ISA-Card_W0QQitemZ130232538814QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_De faultDomain_0?hash=item1e5276d6be

using this dip switch configuration for current loop : http://www.mccdaq.com/PDFs/manuals/cio-com_dual422_com485.pdf

Any comment would be helpful

Thank you

nige the hippy
March 10th, 2010, 11:51 AM
Ouch, $196, I bet that stung a bit.
Have you got the baud rate & i/o address set right? (i.e. the same as your original card) I would presume that the dip-switch settings shown in the picture set the baud rate and/or address.

Chuck(G)
March 10th, 2010, 11:57 AM
I don't know much about the Kiethley card that you bought. But I suspect that the people at Advantech can help out (http://www.advantech.com/products/PCL-741/mod_1-2MLI2L.aspx). Their PCL-741 is probably a close match to yours, but they could certainly verify that for you.

ffvs
March 11th, 2010, 07:50 AM
Ouch, $196, I bet that stung a bit.
Have you got the baud rate & i/o address set right? (i.e. the same as your original card) I would presume that the dip-switch settings shown in the picture set the baud rate and/or address.

Thank you
obtaining information is the difficult part. I couldn't find a way to know baud rate. It uses a propietary software and plc has protection. It was installed for some italian guys 12 years ago.

Thank you Chuck, I just send an email to Advantech.

Chuck(G)
March 11th, 2010, 07:56 AM
The Advantech guys have been doing this kind of thing (industrial automation/CNC) for a long time. If you can provide the information, they probably know exactly what you need.

Let the forum know how it turns out!