PDA

View Full Version : 286 win 3.1 networked to Vista

framer
April 10th, 2010, 07:51 PM
Yippie, I got my True Blue 5170 talking to my Vista machine. The 286 has Win 3.1 in standard mode and DOS MS lan manager 2.1 basic. I had to list the Vista machine in the HOSTS file on the 286. Also I needed to turn on the guest account in Vista as the password was not being decoded correctly. I then had to add the guest account to the shared directory on the Vista Machine. Bingo I can now copy files from the Vista computer into my 286.

This only kill about 4 hour to get this working...

Must be a bad TV night, 6000 channels of nothing.

framer

lutiana
April 10th, 2010, 07:53 PM
Sweet!

Now get it talking to a Server 2003 machine :D

Chuck(G)
April 10th, 2010, 07:55 PM
I wonder if Linux Samba would talk to your Win 3.1 network. Anyone tried it? It should, in theory.

framer
April 10th, 2010, 07:59 PM
I'm sure it would. I've been using Linux Samba for 7 - 8 years at work.

Raven
April 10th, 2010, 08:10 PM
Samba has trouble with Vista/Win7 (unless they've updated it heavily since I last tried), but works fine with all older versions, including Win3x. The reason Win3x has trouble out of the box with the newer machines is that they use new and updated login methods. It's much easier to log into the old machine using the new one if you don't want to fiddle with stripping down the security, or use a non-SMB sharing method (like FTP, HTTP, Sneakernet xD).. Basically since the new machines are backwards compatible as a client, but not as a server, you can always use an older machine as a server with less hassle than the other way around - though both are possible with some tweaking and modification of settings, etc., as you've seen.

Anywho the oldest I've hooked up is Win3.11FW->Win7, bout the same gap, welcome to the club. :D