PDA

View Full Version : Looking for switch and jumper settings for AST MegaPlus (not the MegaPlus II)



wrljet
April 18th, 2010, 10:53 AM
This is a MegaPlus Rev B, not the MegaPlus II (specs for which I found on the web).

Anybody have the switch and jumper info?

Restoring a 64k motherboard 5150 and it's got one of these in it.

Thanks,
Bill

k2x4b524[
April 18th, 2010, 04:03 PM
Try this stason one. It may or may not be what you seek
http://stason.org/TULARC/pc/io-cards/A-B/AST-RESEARCH-INC-Multi-I-O-card-MEGAPLUS-REV-6.html

wrljet
April 18th, 2010, 04:25 PM
Yeah, I saw that one. Mine's a Rev B and doesn't have the same layout as that board.

Bill

k2x4b524[
April 19th, 2010, 01:13 PM
can u upload a picture of it?

wrljet
May 16th, 2010, 10:53 AM
I have figured out the switch block settings for the memory on this card, and I will
post those soon after I get them typed in some decent format. The card can provide High DOS memory.

I also found and replaced a couple bad RAM chips on the daughter card.
So it's working nicely now.

One of the bad DRAMs had something that looks like it came out of the chip, between pins 3 and 4.
It's copper colored, and is flexible. I asked a friend of mine who's worked in the IC industry for decades and he had no idea what it was.

Here's a picture of that one chip, and the board:

http://www.wrljet.com/rennpics/bad-chip.jpg

http://www.wrljet.com/rennpics/AST-MegaPlus.jpg

Bill