PDA

View Full Version : Teac 55BV Guts transplant



k2x4b524[
April 20th, 2010, 03:38 PM
I have acquired a teac 55a for apple, i have a 55BV for pc that one of the r/w heads is defunct *mia actually*, being they are both teac and the holes line up, would i be able to transplant the guts from the dead bv, to the a and have it function?

Chuck(G)
April 20th, 2010, 03:54 PM
It should work. Basically, the 55B is the double-sided version of the 55A. See the bitsavers docs on them. (http://www.bitsavers.org/pdf/teac/)

k2x4b524[
April 20th, 2010, 04:23 PM
i am also concerned because the 55b has a track 0 sensor and the 55a doesn't, i think the logic board on the bv may expect this. one way to find out i suppose

Chuck(G)
April 20th, 2010, 04:38 PM
Yes, that's true--Apple ordered the stripped-down drives, perferring to bang the positioner into the stop repeatedly rather than use a sensor. (Tell me about Apple quality and the genius of Steve Wozniak again).

Can you transplant the sensor to the A?

k2x4b524[
April 20th, 2010, 04:52 PM
this might be a little too in depth, but how hard would it be to transplant the stepper aswell, or would i need to calibrate things at that point?

Chuck(G)
April 20th, 2010, 04:57 PM
I think you'll end up having to align the drive in any case.

k2x4b524[
April 20th, 2010, 04:59 PM
i don't know, my intent is to leave the r/w head and the stepper of the A in place and only move the logics, and the motor, so the alignment of the head wouldn't be messed up, would it?

Chuck(G)
April 20th, 2010, 05:13 PM
Maybe not, but I wouldn't place any bets.

Dwight Elvey
April 20th, 2010, 06:48 PM
Hi
If it was me, I'd carefully measure the position of the head assembly to the
spindle with a caliper mic. Then I'd transfer the entire head assembly
to the other drive.
Dwight

k2x4b524[
April 20th, 2010, 07:24 PM
or, yea i could do that, considering tranferring the logics isn't going to work, some of the holes are off by mere millimeters

I would transfer the head assembly, but no caliper mic, that and i have no idea how to do that..

If i could get the PC logics from a dead 55A i'd be in luck,

My quest for Single Sided goodness continues....