PDA

View Full Version : Commodore 1902A monitor - which cable do I need?



Zombies ate my colon
September 1st, 2005, 12:09 AM
I have an Amiga 500 that I got for free, and I would really like to start using it. I recently bought a Commodore 1902A monitor only to find out that the RGB cable I had is not the correct one.

Can someone please tell me which RGB cable I need to connect an Amiga 500 to a 1902A monitor? I'd appreciate it, as I am antsy in the pantsy to get this computer up and running.

Thanks.

carlsson
September 5th, 2005, 01:00 AM
There is a bit of confusion about Commodore monitors. Some take composite and/or Y/C input, while some take RGB. Some monitors may take RGB on a connector that otherwise is known to take Y/C or vice versa.

The following pinout claims to be for a 1902A monitor. As you can see, it would take luma and chroma (Y/C), not RGB. The Amiga 500 can via an RF modulator output composite video.

http://pinouts.ru/data/C1902a_pinout.shtml

For comparison, here is some kind of 1084 monitor, using a 6-pin DIN for RGB instead:

http://pinouts.ru/data/C1084a_pinout.shtml

Basically, I'm afraid that the computer and monitor are a bit incompatible. Maybe the monitor has a switch between Y/C and composite video on the same connector, so you could connect the Amiga through an A520 RF modulator. Otherwise you should look for a RGB monitor. If you live in Europe, you may use a TV with SCART, but I'm not sure what kind of similar higher quality video input options are available in NTSC/US.

Rose9994You
September 9th, 2005, 07:37 AM
Agree With carlsson

Nice Post carlsson