PDA

View Full Version : IBM PS/2 Model 50Z



lutiana
May 19th, 2010, 01:46 PM
So I acquired a PS/2 Model 50z and unfortunately the thing arrived and is in perfect working condition, so no need to tinker with it there ;D

I really like the design on this thing. Its very easy to work on, I disassembled the thing in about 10 minutes and re-assembled it in the same time. Very impressive.

This is the first MCA machine I have ever seen or used, so I have several questions:

1. Is there such a thing as an MCA Ethernet adapter? For that matter what type of cards are available? Is there such a thing as a MCA Sound Card? An MCA IDE controller?

2. The memory expansion board takes 72pin Sims (1mb and 2mb) and can add a max of 8mb to the system, right now there are only 2 that are populated, giving me 4mb of extra RAM (so a total of 5mb of RAM). Can I put standard 2mb 17 pin SIMMS on the board or do I have to use special IBM SIMMS? Also anyone know the max RAM I could shove into this system?

3. Along the same line of the memory, what is the 286 version of EMM386?

4. What would you suggest as the ideal DOS version to run on the machine? I think I will end up using the machine as a Windows 3 box (preferably Win 3.11 WFW with Trumpet Winsock or some other TCP/IP software).

5. There are 4 MCA slots, 3 of which appear to be the same, but the one in the middle is longer than the rest so I assume it has a specific purpose, any one know what it is? See here (http://john.ccac.rwth-aachen.de:8000/alf/ps2_50z/ps2_50z_4_full.jpeg) or here (http://john.ccac.rwth-aachen.de:8000/alf/ps2_50z/ps2_50z_5_full.jpeg) for a picture

6. Any idea where I can get a key? Its unlocked, but I'd like to have the key so the unit is complete.

7. Any other advice for me?

southbird
May 19th, 2010, 03:16 PM
Is an MCA Ethernet adapter? For that matter what type of cards are available? Is there such a thing as a MCA Sound Card? An MCA IDE controller?

I had a 3com something or other Ethernet card and an IBM M/Audio adapter once in a now lost MC PS/2. There also were SoundBlasters produced for it. MCA IDE I don't know about... SCSI was the popular breed, but nothing would prohibit its existence and I THINK I've heard of it.



2. The memory expansion board takes 72pin Sims (1mb and 2mb) and can add a max of 8mb to the system, right now there are only 2 that are populated, giving me 4mb of extra RAM (so a total of 5mb of RAM). Can I put standard 2mb 17 pin SIMMS on the board or do I have to use special IBM SIMMS? Also anyone know the max RAM I could shove into this system?

Varies by system? The one 486 I had required IBM specific chips OR a modification I once knew about where you had to solder a couple pins together or something...



4. What would you suggest as the ideal DOS version to run on the machine? I think I will end up using the machine as a Windows 3 box (preferably Win 3.11 WFW with Trumpet Winsock or some other TCP/IP software).

Win 3.11 won't run on a 286... Win 3.1 will run in a hobbled way (IIRC?) And it's not like anything TCP/IP will very usable on a 286. :) Although I've run a browser and DOS IRC client on my Tandy 1000 (8086 @ ~8MHz)... it's fun if you like that sort of thing, but you'll suffer with it unless you are very patient...

vwestlife
May 19th, 2010, 03:41 PM
Win 3.11 won't run on a 286... Win 3.1 will run in a hobbled way (IIRC?)

Windows 3.11 will run in Standard Mode on a 286, as long as you have at least 1 MB of RAM.

Windows for Workgroups 3.11 requires a 386 or higher.

The regular (non-"for Workgroups") Windows 3.11 is really just a small bug fix to 3.10; in fact, Microsoft released a free 3.11 update for 3.10 users. (The splash screen will still say Windows 3.1, but under Help / About it will say 3.11 after you install the update.)

lutiana
May 19th, 2010, 03:49 PM
Windows 3.11 will run in Standard Mode on a 286, as long as you have at least 1 MB of RAM.

Windows for Workgroups 3.11 requires a 386 or higher.

Hmm, I may just run Windows 3.1 then. I think I once got a TCP/IP stack to work under it. I don't really want it to browse the internet, mostly just so I can get data to and from the machine.

Is there a physical difference between 16bit MCA slots and 32bit MCA slots? I found a NIC on ebay (3COM card) but the MCA connector on the bottom of the card is different from the ones I have in this system, it has a long bit, then a short bit and then another long bit. The MCA slots in my 50z only have a long bit and a short bit.

southbird
May 19th, 2010, 04:04 PM
Pfft, I always forget there was a "Windows 3.11" :P But in my defense, he did use the "WFW" shorthand, so we all know what I meant. ;)



Hmm, I may just run Windows 3.1 then. I think I once got a TCP/IP stack to work under it. I don't really want it to browse the internet, mostly just so I can get data to and from the machine.

It's still a fun exercise. But if it's just data transfer you're after, you might find it easier just to hook up a NULL modem cable and go serial.


Is there a physical difference between 16bit MCA slots and 32bit MCA slots? I found a NIC on ebay (3COM card) but the MCA connector on the bottom of the card is different from the ones I have in this system, it has a long bit, then a short bit and then another long bit. The MCA slots in my 50z only have a long bit and a short bit.

http://www.mcamafia.de/mcapage0/mcaslots.htm

Obviously there's a technical difference (32-bit wide transfers instead of 16-bit wide transfers), also a 286 is only a 16-bit CPU, so it would make sense that it would not operate with 32-bit hardware (at least, not without a lot of force.) Anyway, check the site for layouts. A 32-bit MCA card won't fit in a 16-bit slot, but I don't know if it works backward?

Chromedome45
May 20th, 2010, 08:54 AM
I could only get IBM SIMMS to work in that machine. I tried others SIMMS but no luck. Look for the Future Domain SCSI controller like this: http://cgi.ebay.com/Future-Domain-Corp-MCS-600-SCSI-MCA-Controller-Card-/200394263501?cmd=ViewItem&pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2ea86dcbcd
Only an example of one. Also the IBM SCSI/2 is a good controller. If you look carefully the connector on this one is a 16 bit MCA. 32 Bit will be much longer. Glad to see it is still working for you.

IBMMuseum
May 20th, 2010, 10:51 AM
So I acquired a PS/2 Model 50z and unfortunately the thing arrived and is in perfect working condition, so no need to tinker with it there ;D

I really like the design on this thing. Its very easy to work on, I disassembled the thing in about 10 minutes and re-assembled it in the same time. Very impressive.

This is the first MCA machine I have ever seen or used, so I have several questions:

1. Is there such a thing as an MCA Ethernet adapter? For that matter what type of cards are available? Is there such a thing as a MCA Sound Card? An MCA IDE controller?

2. The memory expansion board takes 72pin Sims (1mb and 2mb) and can add a max of 8mb to the system, right now there are only 2 that are populated, giving me 4mb of extra RAM (so a total of 5mb of RAM). Can I put standard 2mb 17 pin SIMMS on the board or do I have to use special IBM SIMMS? Also anyone know the max RAM I could shove into this system?

3. Along the same line of the memory, what is the 286 version of EMM386?

4. What would you suggest as the ideal DOS version to run on the machine? I think I will end up using the machine as a Windows 3 box (preferably Win 3.11 WFW with Trumpet Winsock or some other TCP/IP software).

5. There are 4 MCA slots, 3 of which appear to be the same, but the one in the middle is longer than the rest so I assume it has a specific purpose, any one know what it is? See here (http://john.ccac.rwth-aachen.de:8000/alf/ps2_50z/ps2_50z_4_full.jpeg) or here (http://john.ccac.rwth-aachen.de:8000/alf/ps2_50z/ps2_50z_5_full.jpeg) for a picture

6. Any idea where I can get a key? Its unlocked, but I'd like to have the key so the unit is complete.

7. Any other advice for me?

1.) You do have to sort out the Token Ring adapters, but there are several Ethernet cards that work in the 50Z: http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/networking_index.html (SMC, 3Com, and IBM models are going to be most common)...

MCA sound does exist, but on a somewhat rare level. For a 286-based PS/2, it is almost worth thinking it didn't exist. You may get lucky, but a soundcard is often the last thing to land on a PS/2: http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/sound/sound_index.html

There are a few rare IDE MCA adapters that will work in a 50/50Z:
http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/misc/kingston_dc.html#KTM-DC16
http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/misc/sigma.html
http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/misc/ARCO.html
http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/8550/8550_Procom_Pira.html

2.) Parity 2Mb SIMMs are best, theoretically you can get close to 16Mb of RAM from the planar and a couple adapters...

3.) There are versions to run on a 286, however it would probably be best for an MCA EMM adapter: http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/misc/IBM-mem-expand.html#1-8_Mem_Expansion

4.) Minimum of PC/MS-DOS 3.30, all the way up to last versions...

5.) The inner slot is the same as the other three, but has a specific physical placement to connect to the DBA ESDI drive. If you have another drive setup, you can replace the bus riser card (http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/8550/8550_Controllers.html). That was the policy of the mentioned IDE controller adapters.

6.) The barrel keys are hard to match up, finding a source is rare, and then it is a matter of checking keys to find a match...

7.) Review http://www.ibmmuseum.com/OhlandL/8550/8550z_Planar.html and perhaps to breeze by comp.sys.ibm.ps2.hardware if further questions...

lutiana
May 20th, 2010, 11:45 AM
1.) You do have to sort out the Token Ring adapters, but there are several Ethernet cards that work in the 50Z

I was looking at the 3C529-TP as a possible, but it looks like the connector on the bottom has a extra bit to it. Is that a 32bit card?



MCA sound does exist<snip>
There are a few rare IDE MCA adapters that will work in a 50/50Z <snip>


I think I will stick with the drive in there, if I can get a network card working the way I want then space won't be a huge problem. Worse case I will get a SCSI drive and controller in there at some point.



2.) Parity 2Mb SIMMs are best, theoretically you can get close to 16Mb of RAM from the planar and a couple adapters...


By planer you mean the MCA memory expansion card? From what I have read I could get a max of 10mb of RAM in the system with the way I have it now. That would be 8Mb on the expansion card and 2mb on the board. I don't think I will swap the on board chip, but I do want to add another 4Mb to the expansion card.

You say parity are best, but does that mean they will work with non-parity simms? Also, does it matter what slot I put the expansion card in outside the dedicated HDD controller slot?



5.) The inner slot is the same as the other three, but has a specific physical placement to connect to the DBA ESDI drive.

I actually meant the one in the middle with the exta bit at the front, but I have since found out that it is a slot with some specific functionality for a graphics card.



6.) The barrel keys are hard to match up, finding a source is rare, and then it is a matter of checking keys to find a match...


Ahh, I will forget about this one then.

Thanks for all the great info. I have a bit of reading ahead of me I see. The links are great, since its hard to google MCA (as it insists that you actually mean MAC).

vwestlife
May 20th, 2010, 05:06 PM
By planer you mean the MCA memory expansion card?

"Planar" is the PS/2 word for "motherboard" or "system board."

IBMMuseum
May 21st, 2010, 09:48 AM
...A 32-bit MCA card won't fit in a 16-bit slot, but I don't know if it works backward?

No, there are many MCA 32-bit adapters that will fit into a 16-bit slot, and if it fits, generally it will work (granted you have the ADF component). The PS/2 65SX was a 16-bit system (based on a 386SX), that had factory-installed XGA and 'Tribble' SCSI 32-bit adapters. Clearly 32-bit adapters may operate in a more limited manner, and some adapters never were designed to work (say memory expansion beyond 16Mb), in a 16-bit slot.

btronic
August 22nd, 2010, 01:56 PM
I had a ibm ps/2 50z, i bought a network card, the network cable is coaxial, and installed novell dos with personal netware.

Other things i added to the 50z were a math coprocessor (to run autocad) and a card with 2 serial ports (to connect a summagraphics tablet and a hp48gx calculator).

I never installed windows on the ps/2 50z.





1. Is there such a thing as an mca ethernet adapter? For that matter what type of cards are available? Is there such a thing as a mca sound card? An mca ide controller?

4. What would you suggest as the ideal dos version to run on the machine? I think i will end up using the machine as a windows 3 box (preferably win 3.11 wfw with trumpet winsock or some other tcp/ip software).