PDA

View Full Version : windows 1.0 on Tandy 1000



jjzcp
September 25th, 2005, 01:52 PM
Hi, I have a Tandy 1000 first gen, two 5.25" internal floppies, and no hard drive. Is it possible to run windows 1.0 on this machine? If not what other OS's can i get on it other that craptacular DOS?

billdeg
September 25th, 2005, 02:32 PM
if the drives are high density, maybe. I have a copy of version of Windows 1.04 running on a IBM PS/2 model 25 with twin 720 drives. It's called the "Collegiate Kit" and it came with the computer. The 25 uses a 8086 procesor, so what the hey, give it a try on a Tandy 1000.

I just found this...looks like the answer is definately yes:
http://www.oldskool.org/guides/tvdog/1kfaq.html#III.C.1

-Bill D

CP/M User
September 25th, 2005, 04:01 PM
"jjzcp" wrote:

> Hi, I have a Tandy 1000 first gen, two 5.25" internal floppies, and no
> hard drive. Is it possible to run windows 1.0 on this machine? If not
> what other OS's can i get on it other that craptacular DOS?

I would have to know if this machine is 100% IBM compatable.

If so, how much memory does it have?

Alternative GUI would be Digital Research's GEM. Perhaps the best GUI at
that time. Works well on a XT, not sure how well it would go if it were PC
based machine.

First time I played with GEM was on an Amstrad based PC with a single
floppy (no hard disk) - with a Ramdrive. The computer I think only had
512k of memory. This variant of GEM was specifically made for this
particular Computer though.

CP/M User.

Terry Yager
September 25th, 2005, 07:30 PM
Even the most recent versions of GEOS will run on vintage hardware, but the bad news is that the last time I looked, the GEOS website had disappeared, so it might be hard to find a copy now.

--T

jjzcp
September 26th, 2005, 07:52 PM
My computer is the very first gen tandy 1000, and has 256k memory. with two 5.25" floppy drives.

CP/M User
September 26th, 2005, 11:12 PM
"jjzcp" wrote:

> My computer is the very first gen tandy 1000, and has 256k memory.
> with two 5.25" floppy drives.

I'm afraid you maybe hard pressed to get a GUI with 256k, certainally too
difficult to get Windows 1.0 on it I think. I take it this machine has CGA
for the graphics? From what I know the early Monochrome video cards
used on these early machines only support Text Graphics - however
some have said that a custom program can be written to produce
Monochrome graphics (don't ask me how - I've been unable to find any
documentation about it & lack of Monochrome card means I really haven't
pursued this).

CP/M User.

tvdog
September 30th, 2005, 01:22 PM
My computer is the very first gen tandy 1000, and has 256k memory. with two 5.25" floppy drives.

Try Personal DeskMate:

http://tvdog.shacknet.nu/tandy1000/deskmate/pdm2.zip
http://tvdog.shacknet.nu/tandy1000/deskmate/pdm2_360.txt

Can you upgrade your memory? The original 1000 came with 128k, which means you have to have a memory card to get to 256k. If that card only has 128k on it, you should be able to add at least 128k more. The reason I ask is that according to my information Windows requires at least 320k. At any rate, Windows 1.0 is here if you want to play with it:

ftp://tvdog.shacknet.nu/DOSWares/