PDA

View Full Version : SGI Fuel - bad graphics?



tingo
June 26th, 2010, 04:59 PM
Hi,
Does anyone here know a thing or two about SGI Fuels?
On friday I was lucky enough to buy myself one, together with a SGI Software Library. After finding out that the hard drive was dead (or misconfigured, don't know) and replacing that, I finally made it through the IRIX installation. (You can tell I haven't done IRIX much, can't you?)
Anyway when the machine boots, it doesn't want to enable my LCD screen. On the console port (null modem cable connected to the first (lower) serial port at 9600) it says this:

ALERT: odsy board 0: Graphics error
odsy flags: 0x8000204<GFX_OFLOW_INTR,CFIFO_LW_FLAG,UNCORRECTABLE_ECC_ERR OR>
odsy status0: 0x10024080<CFIFO_ENABLED,CFIFO_LW,XRFIFO_LW,RASTER_SYNC_SRC=u nset,CFIFO_SYNC_SRC=unset,DMA_SYNC_SRC=unset>
WARNING: odsy: board 0 - CFIFO timeout
WARNING: ignoring high water interrupt after abnormal teardown
WARNING: ignoring high water interrupt after abnormal teardown
WARNING: odsy board 0: GFX_OFLOW_INTR received
WARNING: odsy board 0: UNCORRECTABLE_ECC_ERROR received
WARNING: OdsyCreateDDRN: graphics must be (re)started starting Xserver
Now, I have tried taking out the graphics board and re-seating it, but it didn't help.
I did try this:

root@IRIS# /usr/gfx/gfxinit -v
Credits stuck above maximum
ALERT: odsy board 0: Graphics error
odsy flags: 0x14<CORRECTABLE_ECC_ERROR,UNCORRECTABLE_ECC_ERROR>
odsy status0: 0x10024080<CFIFO_ENABLED,CFIFO_LW,XRFIFO_LW,RASTER_SYNC_SRC=u nset,CFIFO_SYNC_SRC=unset,DMA_SYNC_SRC=unset>
NOTICE: odsy board 0: CORRECTABLE_ECC_ERROR received [single] (1)
WARNING: odsy board 0: UNCORRECTABLE_ECC_ERROR received
Killed
root@IRIS#
Not help there either.
Does anyone have a hint on how to diagnose / fix my graphics board?
hinv output:

root@IRIS# hinv -v
1 500 MHZ IP35 Processor
CPU: MIPS R14000 Processor Chip Revision: 2.3
FPU: MIPS R14010 Floating Point Chip Revision: 2.3
CPU 0 at Module 001c01/Slot 0/Slice A: 500 Mhz MIPS R14000 Processor Chip (enabled)
Processor revision: 2.3. Scache: Size 2 MB Speed 250 Mhz Tap 0xa
Main memory size: 1024 Mbytes
Instruction cache size: 32 Kbytes
Data cache size: 32 Kbytes
Secondary unified instruction/data cache size: 2 Mbytes
Memory at Module 001c01/Slot 0: 1024 MB (enabled)
Bank 0 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Bank 1 contains 512 MB (Standard) DIMMS (enabled)
Integral SCSI controller 0: Version QL12160, single ended
Disk drive: unit 1 on SCSI controller 0 (unit 1)
Integral SCSI controller 1: Version QL12160, single ended
CDROM: unit 6 on SCSI controller 1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty1
IOC3/IOC4 serial port: tty2
IOC3 parallel port: plp1
Graphics board: V10
Integral Fast Ethernet: ef0, version 1, module 001c01, pci 4
PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x1077, device 0x1216) PCI slot 1
PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x10a9, device 0x0003) PCI slot 4
PCI Adapter ID (vendor 0x11c1, device 0x5802) PCI slot 5
HUB in Module 001c01/Slot 0: Revision 2 Speed 200.00 Mhz (enabled)
IP35prom in Module 001c01/Slot n0: Revision 6.170
USB controller: type OHCI

Any help welcome.

tingo
June 26th, 2010, 05:07 PM
one more thing, I have IRIX 6.5.22 installed. uname -a outputs:

root@IRIS# uname -a
IRIX64 IRIS 6.5 10070055 IP35
How does one tell which version is installed?

NeXT
June 26th, 2010, 07:28 PM
Okay, so the hinv sees your V10 graphics.
First, double check that you have set the graphics variable on by typing
setenv console G
...at the system monitor and rebooting.
If that fails, remove the V10 and inspect the connectors for damage or dirt (Not sure but I think the V10 used something other than the awful CPOP connectors) and if that fails, try booting with the monitor unplugge.
You could also double check that you didn't half-ass your install by reinstalling irix. There is several good guides in how to do so.
If that fails, the best I can think of is that the V10 is pooched. I would recommend you go talk to the folks at nekochan.net regardless as they are experts on SGI gear of any age.

tingo
June 27th, 2010, 05:41 AM
Okay, so the hinv sees your V10 graphics.
First, double check that you have set the graphics variable on by typing
setenv console G
...at the system monitor and rebooting.
I have tried both setenv console G and setenv console g - doesn't make a difference.

If that fails, remove the V10 and inspect the connectors for damage or dirt (Not sure but I think the V10 used something other than the awful CPOP connectors) and if that fails, try booting with the monitor unplugge.
I already took out the V10 (it uses solid card edge connectors), the connectors look fine (no dirt / corrosion), but I re-seated it a few times just the same. That didn't help me.

You could also double check that you didn't half-ass your install by reinstalling irix. There is several good guides in how to do so.
Well, I haven't installed Irix before, so I could have screwed it up I guess. First I installed IRIX 6.5.16 from my CD set, only afterwards realizing tha the Fuel needs at least 6.5.17. Then I set up DINA (http://se.mirror.nekoware.net/SGI_related_files/DINA/Documentation/DINA_Documentation.html) (using Virtualbox on my FreeBSD workstation), downloaded the IRIX 6.5.22 overlays to it and installed IRIX 6.5.22 from there

If that fails, the best I can think of is that the V10 is pooched. I would recommend you go talk to the folks at nekochan.net regardless as they are experts on SGI gear of any age.
A couple of times I have managed to boot without an error message from the V10, but then I haven't managed to get a picture either. I've used setmon to set 1280x1024_60, and don't know what else I should do.

NeXT
June 27th, 2010, 10:07 AM
Well I can't help ypou then as the latet bozes I have worked on is the Octane. all the Fuel users reside at Nekochan.

tingo
June 29th, 2010, 11:40 AM
Ok, I'll try over at Nekochan then.

tingo
July 12th, 2011, 01:00 PM
Update: I finally managed to buy a replacement V10 graphics card for my Fuel. Short story: as of yesterday, my Fuel lives again! Yay!

Tor
July 13th, 2011, 11:03 AM
Didn't see this thread until now, for some reason.
I have a Fuel here at work. It currently runs 6.5.24m. (uname -R)
Good that you got the graphics working. If you run into any software/IRIX/OS installation problems just ask, I've done hundreds over the years (installed Irix systems everywhere.. did one in Brazil early May, but that was most probably the last one).

-Tor