JGardner
July 13th, 2010, 12:19 PM
Back in the day I had a '59, & a printer/cradle. I often
contemplated that interface, realizing it was a possible
link to the larger world - I was afraid to mess with it,
though - That thing was the best part of a month's pay,
in the Air Force, anyway, and I was having too much fun
programming to risk it...

This guy was braver than I - Harvard! I don't feel so bad :)

http://www.math.harvard.edu/~knill/various/ti59/index.html

Jack

Lou - N2MIY
July 13th, 2010, 04:47 PM
Well, sadly I can't read German and so I can only look at the pictures. It looks like the output interface is done by monitoring the status of certain segments on the display. That make sense and could be taken to an extreme with all the segments available.

The input interface is not so clear to me. The term "flag" suggests one single bit, but how was one bit enough for a "joystick"? Is this connected through the magnetic card reader logic?

Although I am an engineer and HP/RPN calculator user to the core, I still have a 59 and PC-100 cradle in the back of a closet here.

Lou

JGardner
July 13th, 2010, 05:34 PM
I dunno, Lou. I've got shoeboxes full of magnetic pgming cards somewhere (maybe...),
mostly concerned with supercharger/turbocharger design.

Somewhere along the way the PC-100 disappeared, otherwise I'd be tempted to give
it a shot.

best regards, Jack

Ksarul
July 15th, 2010, 03:45 PM
I like it! Both articles were interesting reads. . .I have a (poor) copy of the TI-59 card reader interdace and maintenance procedures around here somewhere.

Crawford
July 15th, 2010, 05:29 PM
Ahh, this brings back memories! I had a TI-59 in a holster on my belt throughout High School. I loved the little mag cards, and the programmability of that thing. I wonder what I did with it!

Vint
August 9th, 2010, 07:07 AM
Remembering the TI programmables -
Back in 1977 I couldn't get enough of Texas Instruments programmable's.