PDA

View Full Version : Windows 1 boot



jjzcp
October 3rd, 2005, 07:46 PM
hi, i've found a 1.4mb boot disk of win 1 on the internet. The problem is that my floppies only have 1.3mb of space. Is there any way i can get this boot disk in one of my floppies?

Terry Yager
October 3rd, 2005, 09:31 PM
Erase whatever is on your disks, and you'll have 1.44Mb available.

--T

jjzcp
October 4th, 2005, 03:39 PM
I am using my Apple g5 with an external floppy, and whan i trash everything it still says there is only 1.3MB of space. Whats wrong?

mryon
October 4th, 2005, 05:02 PM
You might want to format it instead of just throwing everything away.

but...

is it a 1.4 meg disk image?
or a folder of items?

Windows 1 won't boot the computer of course, so I assume some flavour of DOS is also included?

I can dig around, I've got a DOS/Win 1.0 disk image somewhere...

-m

carlsson
October 5th, 2005, 02:17 AM
The Apple computer may reserve some space for garbage can, various folder settings and other stuff in hidden files. By the way, you are formatting the disk for PC, so it is not Mac formatted?