PDA

View Full Version : Compaq Portable Plasma



nokia2010
September 5th, 2010, 02:53 PM
I see here (http://oldcomputers.net/compaqiii.html)a "Compaq" <<Portable>> III. That tipe of display was ever sold as P.C. monitor? On my 286 I can set "Compaq Portable Plasma".

NeXT
September 5th, 2010, 03:37 PM
From knowledge, no.
Most if not all the systems that used plasma were either lugables, portables, or terminals.

Chuck(G)
September 5th, 2010, 03:55 PM
I wonder if any IBM 3290 "Information Panel" plasma displays still exist.

kishy
September 5th, 2010, 04:19 PM
I wonder if any IBM 3290 "Information Panel" plasma displays still exist.

They can be bought from suppliers still but don't seem nearly as common as other IBM terminals of the time.

I'm on the hunt for the keyboard as it's considerably more interesting to me.

nokia2010
September 5th, 2010, 10:36 PM
So no separate "Compaq" <<Portable Plasma>>?
Talking about "I.B.M." 3290: http://www.argecy.com/index.php?pfile=3290 This displlay could show images or no?

Chuck(G)
September 6th, 2010, 08:23 AM
Characters only, but there was a downloadable font, so custom images could be made.

Captain Midnight
September 6th, 2010, 01:47 PM
I guess I don't completely follow the question, but I'll put this factoid out there and maybe it will have relevance. The special "hi-res" mode the Dual Mode Display used was generally compatible with the AT&T 400 display, which was used on the PC 6300 and other PCs made by AT&T. In fact in Compaq's own user manual for the Portable III, it actually recommends using AT&T display drivers for certain programs (that predated the Portable III). AT&T displays and related cards aren't that common, but I've run into them once in my travels and if you can find a PC 6300, chances are you'll find the related graphics. Hope that helps.