PDA

View Full Version : LC 575 (performa) in need of a few things if anyone has



custm42435
September 11th, 2010, 05:04 PM
I just picked up a lc575 from my step mom that she has had in her basement for years collecting dust, and i was planning on putting some games on it for the kids to play since a lot of educational software was designed for these type of machines. It has a total of 8 meg of memory installed and the 250 meg hard drive. so i downloaded some games and was burning them to cd on my other computer when all of a sudden the hard drive in the lc Failed. Tried several times to see if i could fix it running drive setup, but alas it always gives errors and never completes. So im trying to see if anyone has another hard drive for these, and possibly some more memory to upgrade it with...

Any help and reply would be appreciated!

Raven
September 11th, 2010, 05:12 PM
I have many spare HDDs, and may have memory as well. How big of an HDD are you looking for, and what sort of memory does that particular model take - SIMMs of some kind, iirc, but what size(s)/pin numbers?

custm42435
September 11th, 2010, 06:47 PM
I have many spare HDDs, and may have memory as well. How big of an HDD are you looking for, and what sort of memory does that particular model take - SIMMs of some kind, iirc, but what size(s)/pin numbers?

if im correct the largest hard drive it can use is the 320 meg scsi.. the one it had that failed was a 250 meg.. the simms is uses is 70 ns 72 pin simms with 64 meg being the max and has one memory slot.
do you have these?
i have a 1 gig non apple scsi hard drive but it just says not supported when i tried to use it..
i have a g3 with mac osx running on it but never installed the classic os so i cant play the older games on it.

Raven
September 14th, 2010, 04:31 AM
I have some spare Mac 72-pin SIMMs, but I think they're 8MB. I probably have a 320MB HDD around, though - finding it is the hard part, though.

I have machines I could pull RAM from, but I honestly don't know enough about Macs to know which machine would have a 64MB 72-pin SIMM in it.

How much will ya give me for a 320MB? Will you settle for a 250MB if that's all I can find? (Feel free to reply to this in PM, it's probably more appropriate at this point)

james1095
September 16th, 2010, 04:57 PM
if im correct the largest hard drive it can use is the 320 meg scsi.. the one it had that failed was a 250 meg.. the simms is uses is 70 ns 72 pin simms with 64 meg being the max and has one memory slot.
do you have these?
i have a 1 gig non apple scsi hard drive but it just says not supported when i tried to use it..
i have a g3 with mac osx running on it but never installed the classic os so i cant play the older games on it.



The SCSI Macs will use much bigger drives than that. I've had a 2GB drive running in a IICi, you have to use a 3rd party setup tool for non-Apple branded drives though.