PDA

View Full Version : System 7 Resolution

Raven
October 3rd, 2010, 01:49 PM
I have a lot of boxen that run System 7. I'm a relative noob to Mac.

I have only two Apple monitors - a 12" Color and a Portrait Grayscale. I have three adapters to hook up VGA monitors to the Macs.

I am trying to get my IIci to output 1600x1200, or really to output anything besides "default" which seems to differ based on the adapter (I imagine they all emulate different monitor signatures). The best I seem to get is either something that goes off of my modern widescreen on the bottom, or 640x480 (if my eyes are estimating the resolution properly). I have no dropdown for resolution in the monitor panel.

Is there any way to force a resolution, to get a resolution dropbox, or etc.?

I have two highres video cards for the IIci, an Apple High Resolution Display Card and an AMD-powered Apple 8-16 Video Card (I think that's what it was called).

The adapters I have.. one is unmarked, one is marked NEC MultiSync and on the back claims to support 640x480->1152x870, the last one is really nice looking and has a switch. In one position it says it supports 640x480 or 1600x1200, but the option is marked "VGA/G3" which makes me think it might only do 640x480 on older Macs and 1600x1200 on a G3 or above. The other switch position (labeled 21" Multi) claims to do 640480->1280x1024.

I'd be happy with 1024x768, tbh, as at least that doesn't look crappy on widescreen monitors (and the idea is to not have to stick another monitor on the desk atm).

Also, another question - I bought an adapter that goes in the reverse - allowing you to use a Mac monitor on a PC, and had specially bought it to try to hook up the portrait display to my machine. I couldn't get it to work at all, and this kinda pissed me off. Any idea on that?

glitch
October 3rd, 2010, 02:05 PM
I soldered together my own Mac -> VGA adapter, and the trick is getting the sense signals correct. Use this diagram: