PDA

View Full Version : Altair 8800



greenmeanie
October 11th, 2010, 08:04 AM
Just got this machine.
Powers up just have to figure out how to test it now.
Here is a pic for now.

donutty
October 11th, 2010, 02:28 PM
Nice! Some day one like it will be mine, oh yes!

greenmeanie
November 21st, 2010, 05:08 PM
Put some new CAPS on the power supply and fired it up.
Tried to put a few Imsai binary programs in and didn't have any luck. I can see the info I enter deposit into RAM I also can examine it. But when I RUN it no luck.

Dwight Elvey
November 21st, 2010, 10:16 PM
Put some new CAPS on the power supply and fired it up.
Tried to put a few Imsai binary programs in and didn't have any luck. I can see the info I enter deposit into RAM I also can examine it. But when I RUN it no luck.

Hi
It sounds like you got a bum deal. Rather than tossing it,
why not send it to me. I think I can find a use for it. Maybe
a door stop or something. I always believe in recycling.
Dwight

barythrin
November 22nd, 2010, 09:51 AM
If you ever need a babysitter for it... ;-) I guess it wasn't you that sold like 4 of these a few years back? Good job on finding the Altair Computer Club on yahoo, I see a few replies there. If they have a simple memory test loop program or if you can figure out how to write one that would be my first choice of program to run, or you could just do a counting program and watch it and the lights run.

I haven't used one but is there a step vs run? I suppose if something was up with the wiring for that switch you might have a problem only with that button.