PDA

View Full Version : Monorail 133 processor support



NeXT
October 20th, 2010, 08:51 PM
I have a 133mhz (probably does not support MMX) version of the Monorail all-in-one and seeing how it's got a regular Socket 7 processor, I want to upgrade it to something better.
The thing is I do not know any of the jumper settings for the system so I can't just throw in a nice 233mhz MMX pentium or something even nicer if I can source a better cooling solution.

http://ckdake.com/files/monorail.gif

vwestlife
October 20th, 2010, 10:58 PM
Oh wow... it's been many years since I saw one of those! The design was rather impressive at the time, since it was one of the first desktop PCs to use an LCD monitor, but the lack of expandability made it seem rather limited.

Space and cooling constraints will be a major hindrance in finding a CPU upgrade that will work, unless you can find one that uses a small, low-power "laptop" version of a CPU.

Dave Farquhar
October 21st, 2010, 11:00 AM
I remember that machine, but I never poked around inside one. If nothing else, you should be able to put an IDT Winchip CPU in there. I had good luck in the 1997-98 timeframe using that CPU to upgrade Pentiums. Sometimes it was the only way to get MMX support on the older machines, and you didn't have to have explicit BIOS support for it. Most systems I tried it in just thought it was a Pentium at a weird clock rate.

Unfortunately for you the Winchip remapped the 1.5x multiplier to 4x; the old Pentium 2x multiplier still did 2x on the Winchip, so you'd still have to find the jumper pins. From what I read, if you just remove the jumper pins, then it defaults to a 4x multiplier.

Raven
October 21st, 2010, 06:33 PM
I have my Presario 3020 and it maxes out at a 200Mhz MMX. It had ample room inside for a huge cooler, so depending on the system design that might not be a problem (or might) - have to look to tell. I'd go with a Tillamook chip at 266->400Mhz (depending on FSB) if it takes it.

NeXT
October 21st, 2010, 08:01 PM
My cooling solution is kinda crazy.
I have access to the heatpipe assembly that the Powermac G5 uses to keep its bridge chip cool. It's small enough that with some careful flex work I can persuade it to fit inside the system and clamp the main copper pad to the top of the processor. It would be a LOT better than the current stock heatsink.
I have access to processors of various speeds. This includes a 233 MMX Pentium Overdrive. I even have a nice 400mhz K6.

Chuck(G)
October 21st, 2010, 08:04 PM
Very cool system! Did you get it in North Haverbrook? :)

NeXT
October 21st, 2010, 10:40 PM
It was part of that mondo computer lot.

Chuck(G)
October 21st, 2010, 11:38 PM
http://images2.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20100216144205/simpsons/images/thumb/5/56/North_Haverbrook_6.PNG/250px-North_Haverbrook_6.PNG

NeXT
October 22nd, 2010, 08:46 AM
>_>

Oh.

Raven
October 22nd, 2010, 06:58 PM
You're pretty lucky to have access to such a huge pile of machines to dig through. It's rare that I get the chance to do that, very rare..

NeXT
October 22nd, 2010, 07:21 PM
It's annoying as hell as I can ooh and aah at it but in the end, I need to sell it all.

Raven
October 22nd, 2010, 08:42 PM
Well I'm sure you can keep a few... :P

You're keeping the Monorail, right?

NeXT
October 22nd, 2010, 11:43 PM
It and hopefully a Rainbow 100 at the least.

NeXT
October 27th, 2010, 08:20 PM
With a little bit of rigging and a little bit of hacking I went from this...
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/100_1205.jpg

...to this crudly assembled contraption of a heatsink.
http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a166/ballsandy/Computer%20related/100_1206.jpg
It looks nasty but after I make a clamp to hold it to the processor socket it should be ready to work.

NeXT
October 29th, 2010, 08:00 PM
Found the jumper settings for the Processor.


133MHz Processor

For a 133MHz processor you will need to make the following jumper changes:

J16) 1-2: Close 3-4: Open

J37) 4-3: Open 2-1: Close

166MHz Processor

For a 166MHz processor, you will need the following jumper settings:

J16) 1-2: Close 3-4: Close

J37) 4-3: Open 2-1: Close

For a 166MHz processor to be identified and operate properly, you will need to update the BIOS to version 3.21 or higher.



200MHz Processor

For a 200MHz processor, you will need the following jumper settings:

J16) 1-2: Open 3-4: Close

J37) 4-3: Open 2-1: Close

For a 200MHz processor to be identified and operate properly, you will need to update the BIOS to version 3.21 or higher.

Settings for AMD K6-200 Processor (Models 7366 w/MMX, 166LS w/MMX, 7400, 7500, NPC 200LSe only)

For the AMD K6-200, you will need the following jumper settings:

J16) 1-2: Open 3-4: Close

J37) 4-3: Open 2-1: Close

J2) Close

J3) Open

J1) 1-2: Short

J7) Close

Settings for AMD K6-233 Processor (Models 7366 w/MMX, 166LS w/MMX, 7400, 7500, NPC 200LSe only)

For the AMD K6-233 Processor, you will need the following jumper settings:

J16) 1-2: Open 3-4: Close

J37) 4-3: Open 2-1: Close

J2) Close

J3) Open

J1) 1-2: Short

J7) Close

Seeing how all the above processors are 3.3v, I'm assuming there is no way to change the voltage so the best I can do is throw in a 233Mhz MMX K-6 (the early K-6 chips ran at 3.3v instead of 2.8v) and that's it. There is no room for a clock multiplier card as I would not make the clearance of the ISA slot

NeXT
October 30th, 2010, 11:05 AM
might someone have a better image of the jumper locations on this board? The layout and labling on this thing is awful.

Anonymous Coward
October 31st, 2010, 07:23 AM
There are adapters sometimes (such as PL-ProMMX-400) on ebay (though probably not cheap) that will let you install 400MHz MMX chips.

Raven
October 31st, 2010, 09:32 AM
There's also the OverDrive chips if you prefer to stick with Intel, which would let you do 233Mhz proper Pentium MMX.

NeXT
October 31st, 2010, 12:50 PM
Could of sworn I already posted this but whatever...
I have an Overdrive MMX chip here but I have learned that it and the PowerLeap adapters are too tall.
The internals of this case are awful. Just throwing a fan onto the stock heatsink gets in the way of the ISA slot. The heatpipe solution I did is the best solution I could come up with.

avon666
November 3rd, 2010, 02:45 AM
I was looking for information on upgrading the the cpu on a monorail 7333 and the AMD-K6-233ANR(233mhz mmx) should work just open the Attached Image for pin-jumper changes also their is a MMX VRM module on the diagram .the jumper J2 & J3 are on the VRM Module to enable Dual Voltage for all the other CPUs that require dual voltage.BTW the voltage for k6 233 is :Electrical/Thermal parameters
V core (V)3.2 0.145(MAX 3.345v) V I/O or secondary (V)3.3V (3.135V - 3.6V) .From reading other people that did this it worked but the original cooler might need to be upgraded.

NeXT
November 3rd, 2010, 07:24 AM
Yes! That was exactly waht I was looking for! Thanks a bunch!

NEBULA1966
January 20th, 2011, 09:29 PM
Greetings to all. I just found this site and the Pentium 1 forum , it's great thanks Erik!
My current project is a Monorail 7333 with a Pentium i133 non MMX and 80mb EDO RAM,Dualboot,cd burner,2 HDD, a Zipdrive 100,an external 56K Modem and an external 1.4 floppy.I enjoy upgrading,custom building and restoring any computer but I especially enjoy working on Monorails,though finding Monorail 7333/7245/166LS -BIOS upgrades and finding technical info and specifications is proving to be a fun challenge.
What other info for these Monorails is available? Anyone with any info and/or spare parts please email me.
Does anyone have Monorail owners manuals or technical information to share?
I would love to find the correct BIOS update for one of these.
Thanks for posting the Monorail jumper settings diagram ,it's the first one for a Monorail I have ever seen and it's a great help thanks!
I have noticed that the two Monorail 7333 Motherboards I have, are built slightly different ,my boards are missing a few jumpers that appear in the posted diagram.I figure I have an earlier version of the posted board,but still I am glad to have found the posted diagram..Nice!

I am interested in being able to set the Processor core voltages for future upgrades but I don't seem to have the same J2 or J3 jumpers on my board ,they aren't there at the locations shown in the posted jumper settings diagram. I do have the J1 ,J7 and J8 jumpers.
I found that my board has a J2, but it's not a jumper it's just a J2 printed on the board and it's right behind the modem phoneplug,definitely not like what the diagram shows.
Does anyone actually have the exact board with the J2 and J3 jumpers shown in the posted diagram.
My 7333 boards don't have the J2 J3 jumpers shown in diagram and I don't see them in the two previously posted pictures of the custom built Monorail watercooler photos either.

Here are some numbers and info I have off my two boards ..(Monorail Inc Rev 3.20 AMI American Megatrends (BIOS) Bios indentification string is 51-3200-006474-0111111), motherboard numbers I found are 38-8100-001R and also there is this other MB number 411690800001-R.
Again I want to say thanks to the vintage member for the Board system jumper diagram,you are awesome! Most of the info,from the posted diagram applies to my board and it has been a great help,I really appreciate it ,thanks a million.
I am interested in hearing from all Monorail tweaker/builder/restore and upgrading enthusiast,I have stories and modification pic's to share too!

I have previously custom built a couple of nice Dell's, but these 1997 era Monorails are really cool, I just wish I could get more technical info and it would be nice to have a few Monorail parts computers!
Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks again to everyone!
NEBULA1966

Leo
March 25th, 2011, 08:46 PM
Hi: Recently a friend who owns a local business asked me to look a a computer he was using to log in invoices from sales in order to back them up.
The computer was a Motorail 133. First one that I ever saw. Computer was purchased new in 1995 and still has the DOS operationg system. (And I don't mean Windows of any kind but DOS 3.1)
Anyway the CMOS battery appears to be going out. The guy would like to keep the computer and have a new CMOS battery put it.
Any idea how to open the case to this little tank of a computer and replace the battery?
Since his business invoices from about 1997 are on it I didn't want to "blow" it open without knowing what I was doing.
Thanks
Leo