PDA

View Full Version : CP/M beginner- where to start?

arfink
November 10th, 2010, 07:37 AM
I have zero experience with CP/M and I'm interested in giving it a whack. I don't have any CP/M hardware around at the moment, and I just want to play with CP/M. Is there a good emulator I should check out, or any particular resources or hardware I should be interested in? I have an Apple IIgs that I could get a Z80 card for if need be, but an emulator or something of that nature would be acceptable at this point.

Any suggestions you have for a CP/M newbie would be appreciated. Thanks!

commodorejohn
November 10th, 2010, 08:05 AM
SIMH (http://simh.trailing-edge.com/) includes a pair of Altair emulators (one for 8080 and one for Z80) and CP/M disk images you can use. Also, there's MyZ80, (http://www.z80.eu/myz80cpm.html) which is CP/M-specific and includes nice features for easy transfer between emulated disks and the actual filesystem of your computer. Either one would be a good start (though if you're using SIMH on a Windows machine, I'd suggest connecting it to a Telnet port and using a terminal program like PuTTY, as you'd have to set up ANSI escape-code interpretation otherwise.)

MikeS
November 10th, 2010, 08:10 AM
There's also 22NICE and 22DISK; the author occasionally checks in here.

http://www.cpm80.com/

And then there's CP/M-86 of course...

NobodyIsHere
November 10th, 2010, 08:23 AM
Hi! I recommend getting some real hardware. Get a Kaypro or Osborne at least. If your only experience with CP/M is through an emulator I think it loses something in translation. Certainly a Z80 card for an A2 is better but a dedicated machine would be best.

Thanks and have a nice day!

Andrew Lynch

MikeS
November 10th, 2010, 08:26 AM