PDA

View Full Version : Getting the correct evenly space out circle in Paint & M



CP/M User
November 22nd, 2005, 09:52 PM
And the more bit is what you can do in Ultimate Paint. A freeware Arty program for Windows (aaarrrruuugghhh!!).

But I suddenly figured out a way for getting those Circles in paint perfectly spaced out. It could work theorically work in any art program, but Paint in particular has the tendancy to set out a second set of co-ordinates based from the points for where you started drawning your circle. I cannot emphasise how important it is to record everything when persision is needed. For example you need to put your cross-hairs on the point where you need to be. Also I found it a lot easier to start drawning small circles & gradually moving up and drawning the larger ones (effectively putting them inside the ones you previously drew).

Here's my example:

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/5305/wormhole26ut.th.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wormhole26ut.jpg)

I started from the centre & moved out.

Firstly you need to know the dimensions of your image (for these types of images), I cheated a bit at first and only had this vertically aligned, later got the horizontal dimensions & used the last circle to centre (this image is 512x384 - so dividing this by 2 got me 256 x 192).

In paint though the real secret is put a point - okay for this image I started at 180 to 205 - so I put my crosshairs at 180, but when I start drawning a circle I don't want it to go off the page by trying to get 205, I need to subtract the last figure from the first one which makes that 205-180 = 25. So I discontinue drawning my circle when it reads 25 (on the status bar on the bottom).

I should point out that when I started to draw these circles I calculated from the largest to the smallest. The largest Sqaure Circle I had at the time was between 0 to 385. From there on in I added 20 to my start position & took 20 off by second figure. After after it's easily a question of subtracting the second figure from the first & it tells you the answer you need to know for Paint.

Try it! ;-)

Here's some effects I did in Ultimate paint.

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/1316/altenativewormhole25681xd.th.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=altenativewormhole25681xd.jpg)

I gave this image every conceable effect UP would give me, Interlace & Vortex is one of the few effects I remember giving it.

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/4103/wormhole1638fc.th.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wormhole1638fc.jpg)

Simple sharp effect simply by using 16 colours.

http://img511.imageshack.us/img511/4426/wormhole25617nx.th.jpg (http://img511.imageshack.us/my.php?image=wormhole25617nx.jpg)

This is the same effect as above, except in 256. I might of played about between the both as well. Ultimate Paint has a few nifty tricks up it's sleeve when it comes to effects.

As you can see it blends in with the music I listen to! ;-)

vic user
November 23rd, 2005, 03:58 AM
well done man!

chris

CP/M User
November 23rd, 2005, 11:17 PM
"vic user" wrote:

> well done man!

Cheers - Yes I since found out it doesn't apply to every art program. I since made a couple of simple circles in Ultimate Paint which works entirely different - whilst keeping the dimensions of the circle perfectly intact, for exaple position the cursor where you want the centre of the circle.

But certainally it would apply to the various versions of Microsoft Paint - incidently I thought MS would have carried out putting in a Zoom Out function by now. It's getting frustrating annoying trying to select a portion of the screen only to be stopped by the resolution of the screen being too great (e.g A section of the area in question is off screen & cannot be selected - in earlier Paint I think to use the select tool would automatically move the scrollbars, but now it seems it doesn't want to). A Zoom out would certainally solve this & avoid the hassle of destroying the original resolution - by allowing you to select the portion of the picture & then zooming back in latter.

The final product I produced & used in my project works very well.

CP/M User.

vic user
November 24th, 2005, 01:16 PM
i only use paintbrush to do graphic things with (like my avatar), and i can't wait to try your ideas.

those circles blow me away!

chris